Previous Thread  Next Thread

chat icon STEP importer, do we need it?

neilwightman

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:47 am
Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Hi All.

I'm thinking of writing a complete STEP (AP203 / AP214) importer for blender.

I know that STL can be used (and I have used it many time) but I wanted to see if there was a real need for STEP import. STL is bloated and creates meshes which are either too high or too low. You cant get it 'just right'.

I know there are currently 2 STEP imports around (one is not GPL and other isnt complete) I have been unable to get either downloaded and working Sad

If you want a GPL STEP import then I will continue investigating. Also is AP203/214 enough for most users?

Thanks for your inputs
Reply with quote


DeannaJ

Posted: Wed Dec 12, 2012 9:43 pm
Joined: 12 Dec 2012
Posts: 1
yes I would use it.
Reply with quote


Gizmot

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:15 pm
Joined: 04 Jan 2013
Posts: 1
I register to answer : HOLY YES

having STEP import would allow me to do 3D flightrough+rendering+animation of scan data (mechanical, architecture, civil) and reverse engineered models.
Reply with quote


 
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group