Previous Thread  Next Thread

chat icon Help With Error when Running Blender

aaguilar

Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 10:15 pm
Joined: 05 Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Hello Everyone,

I was wondering if anyone can help me out with a problem I am experiencing when running Blender after I have compiled it from source. The error I receive is the following:

blender: /afs/crc.nd.edu/x86_64_linux/blender/src2/llvm/llvm/include/llvm/Support/CommandLine.h:646: void llvm::cl::parser<DataType>::addLiteralOption(const char*, const DT&, const char*) [with DT = llvm::ScheduleDAGInstrs* (*)(llvm::MachineSchedContext*), DataType = llvm::ScheduleDAGInstrs* (*)(llvm::MachineSchedContext*)]: Assertion `findOption(Name) == Values.size() && "Option already exists!"' failed.
Abort

Also, I used the following flags when configuring blender so that it could find LLVM:

-DLLVM_DIRECTORY=/opt/crc/blender/Dependencies/2.65a/LLVM-3.2 -DLLVM_VERSION=3.2

Also, I am compiling Blender from source because our systems run RHEL 5 and it has an older glibc version than the one required to run the binaries of Blender. I would appreciate any help.

Thank you,
Antelmo
Reply with quote


stiv

Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 3:53 am
Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 3645
Near as I can tell, it is spitting up over command line options. What options are you running with?
Reply with quote


aaguilar

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 8:10 pm
Joined: 05 Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Hello Stiv,

If by command line options you mean what command I used to run blender from the terminal, then that command is "./blender". I did not add any additional options. I apologize if that is not what you were asking.

Thank you,
Antelmo
Reply with quote


stiv

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:22 pm
Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 3645
Exactly what I meant! We'll have to find an llvm guy for this one.
Reply with quote


aaguilar

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:57 pm
Joined: 05 Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Hello Stiv,

Thank you for your reply. Just to let you and anyone else know, I compiled Blender without CYCLES_OSL and LLVM and everything seems to run find(at least I was able to get the GUI of Blender). So hopefully someone can help me out on what I am doing wrong when trying to build with OSL and LLVM. I would appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks,
Antelmo
Reply with quote


ldo

Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:11 am
Joined: 07 Nov 2010
Posts: 544
What’s not clear from the error message is where exactly inside Blender is the error being triggered.

Are you able to build Blender with debugging symbols, run it under GDB, and get a traceback when the error is triggered?
Reply with quote


aaguilar

Posted: Tue May 14, 2013 8:06 pm
Joined: 05 Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Hello Ido,

Thank you for responding. I kind of gave up with trying to install Blender with OSL from source. I just compiled it without OSL. Our systems are also being upgraded from RHEL 5 to RHEL 6 so I will be able to get the Blender binaries from now on.

-Antelmo
Reply with quote


 
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group