import smd to blender

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

alpha920
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:52 am

import smd to blender

Postby alpha920 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:58 am

I have the smd import/export scripts but Im having trouble figuring how to import smd format into blender. when I import the model the screen is blank and i cant see the model anywhere. i cannot find any specific tutorial on this, can someone show me detail steps on how to do this properly or link me to a good tutorial.

Thank you for reading.

Tehrasha
Posts: 1264
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 6:21 am
Location: Iowa

Postby Tehrasha » Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:28 am

Which version of Blender?
The old import/export scripts were for the old 2.4* and could be very twitchy.
Current versions of blender use the SMD Tools addon.

alpha920
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:52 am

Postby alpha920 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:55 am

Tehrasha wrote:Which version of Blender?
The old import/export scripts were for the old 2.4* and could be very twitchy.
Current versions of blender use the SMD Tools addon.


im using version 2.6.1, i tried the addon but i couldnt figure out how to install it. I dont think it works with verions 2.6. Im using specifically 2.6 because it has all the necessary scripts I need to export as ascii files. so what im basically trying to do is import smd then export as ascii.

Tehrasha
Posts: 1264
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 6:21 am
Location: Iowa

Postby Tehrasha » Fri Feb 24, 2012 4:47 am

Download ZIP file ... http://blender-smd.googlecode.com/files ... ls-117.zip

Launch Blender

File --> User Preferences --> Addons Tab --> Install Addon button (lower left)
Select the zip file you downloads. Install Addon Button (upper right)

Activate the addon by checkmarking the box to the right of Import/Export: SMD/DMX Tools.

Save As Default Button (lower left)

File --> Import --> Source Engine (.smd, .vta, .dmx, .qc)

Enjoy.

alpha920
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:52 am

Postby alpha920 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 5:26 am

Tehrasha wrote:Download ZIP file ... http://blender-smd.googlecode.com/files ... ls-117.zip

Launch Blender

File --> User Preferences --> Addons Tab --> Install Addon button (lower left)
Select the zip file you downloads. Install Addon Button (upper right)

Activate the addon by checkmarking the box to the right of Import/Export: SMD/DMX Tools.

Save As Default Button (lower left)

File --> Import --> Source Engine (.smd, .vta, .dmx, .qc)

Enjoy.


addons tab is the problem, I dont see it anywhere. anyways I figured out how to import the model but I cannot import the bones. the console says cannot find armater, what does that mean?

thanks

Artfunkel
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 12:27 pm

Postby Artfunkel » Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:08 am

alpha920 wrote:addons tab is the problem, I dont see it anywhere.


The version linked to above doesn't work with recent Blender releases. Always get the latest SMD Tools from http://code.google.com/p/blender-smd/downloads/list instead.

ekmek
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:04 pm

Postby ekmek » Tue Feb 12, 2013 8:54 pm

Artfunkel wrote:
alpha920 wrote:addons tab is the problem, I dont see it anywhere.


The version linked to above doesn't work with recent Blender releases. Always get the latest SMD Tools from http://code.google.com/p/blender-smd/downloads/list instead.


I have Blender 2.65 and I'm getting te blank screen import when I use SMD tools 1.6.3.

It might be the SMD I'm creating.

For the record I'm using an SMD that is supposed to be "importable" into 3dsmax per this website:

http://darkmatters.org/forums/index.php ... r2-models/


Return to “Interface & Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests