bf-blender / Windows (2004/04/08)

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

gabio
Posts: 618
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

bf-blender / Windows (2004/04/08)

Postby gabio » Thu Apr 08, 2004 5:52 pm

A new build for today!

Coders are very active these days so the list of fixed stuffs is looong.

Mention:
-Bugfixs ... and bugfixs....
-Blender player have been revived a bit.
-save in runtime...

Commits:

-ton
Log:
bugfix #1119

When using MotionBlur, the rendered coordinates were not correctly
adjusted, causing visual artifacts using the new AO, but it was also
visible for normal ray-shadow, which didn't become anti-aliased in
Mblur render.

Solved it with 2 globals now, to pass on blur offset to renderloop.
Leave it that way... the entire method used to jitter/AA/blur stuff
needs revision.

-jiri
Log:
Fixed bug [ #1101 ] Duplivert Limit for Metaball

No limits for count of MetaElems (1024 in past).
Log:
Panel "MetaBall" in button window is now available for every MetaBall (not only for base MetaBall)

-blendix
Log:
Fixed bug #1007:
With extra Wire and Bounds (Cylinder, Cone or Sphere) drawing enabled in the
Object Buttons, the Wire was drawn incorrectly.

-ton
Log:
Bug report #1007

Missing option in menus: 'make duplis real'. Added it in both Object
pulldown as in toolbox now.
Log:
Bug #1003

Using Nkey in 3d window, you could create a parent-loop, which hangs
Blender.
Added here that it checks loops, as for normal CTRL+P parenting.
Log:
bug fix 1009

Arrow keys to select items were flipped for button type MENU.

-stiv
Log:
fix for bug 1110.
Updated epydoc. Function name is BezTriple.getTriple().
Set prototype to NOARGS in source.

-ton
Log:
Bug fix #1093

When editing a Curve object, type Poly, some code still thought it was
a Nurbs instead, doing nasty stuff with knots arrays.
Also fixed redraw events for buttons while editing Curve, this wasn't
done properly at all, causing the UI showing non-existant data...
Log:
Bug fix #1073

CTRL+SHIFT+A (apply lattice deform) on a Bezier Curve object was not
implemented yet. Added this.

Little sidenote: when curves are 2D the result will remain 2D, disregarding
deformation in 3rd dimension.
Log:
bug fix 1064

Credits go to blendix! Well done!

Reported were errors in using procedural textures on "Map input" UV type.
It was due to un-initialized uv[2] members, which were actually still
used by texture.c for some coord flip magic.
Log:
Bug #928

Logic buttons have not been Panelized (will be difficult, dont try!) so
the 'Home' and automatic view-limits didn't work it anymore.
This caused logic blocks not being accessible by scrolling window.

Fixed by updating the code that sets view limits.

-blendix
Log:
'Replace Image' did not work in the Image Window, it worked as 'Load Image'.
Patch provided by Carsten Wartmann.

Got rid of a 'unused variable' warning too.

-ton
Log:
bug fix #953

This more of a quality issue... changes now are:

- in (ortho) 3d view, changing window aspect keeps zooming
level (it zoomed out with extreme portrait aspect)
- pressing 'home' in 3d window now shows all with extreme aspect ratios too

-ton
Log:
bug fix #1127

Quads in radiositizer got normals calculated using 3 vertices only. this
can go wrong in occasions... and made blender hang.
Used CalcNormFloat4() instead!

-ton
Log:
- normals in previewrender showed bumpmap inverted (a bump became a hole)
just added a flip!
Log:
bug fix 799

Solved by Styken, thanks dude!

the winqreadtextspace() function wants CTRL/ALT events, but also should
accept special characters that are sometimes behind an ALT on certain
keyboards (like [ ] in sweden).

In the old code all ALT events caused ascii to set on zero. Now it
checks first for ispunct() chars.

-stiv
Log:
fix for bug #1115
This was a problem with the BezTriple type.
Write access to BezTriple via 'pt' member did not work.

Preferred method to access BPy type members, especially for
write access, is via get*/set* methods.

BezTriple.setPoints() will accept x,y coordinates as either
a tuple or a list.

Updated BezTriple section of Ipo module doc.

-jesterking
Log:
Added preliminary support for GamePlayer building with SCons. GPG_ghost and GPC_common are now being built. These will be built by setting BUILD_BLENDER_PLAYER to true in config.opts. BUILD_GAMEENGINE must be set to true, too.

-kester
Log:
Added resolveCombinedVelocities()
Fixed drot actuator. The rotation matrix was being mutilated by passing a float[9] instead of float[12].

-kester
Log:
In NaN times I suggested a python function to get the subject of a
Message using a python function of the MessageSensor.

Thats a nice thing if you want complex message handling in one python
script. Just get all messages, check the subject and do what you
want. In the current situation you end up with several MessageSensors
connected to the python script, instead of one Sensor and a smart
script.

Some developer (cant remember who) did implement that function, but
however not the way I wanted (maybe I was not clear enough) ;-) So the
getSubject() function will return whats entered in the "Subject:"
filter field of the MessageSensor. Quite useless IMHO.

So I added a new function getSubjects() which is similar to
getBodies(), in fact I stole the code from there ;-)

I left the getSubject() alone, because of backward compatibility
(never saw someone using that function, but...)

The future:

In conjunction with a wildcard subject: filter field the getSubjects()
function will be even more usefull.

i.e. Player* will filter for PlayerScore, PlayerKill etc.

-- Carsten Wartmann

-ton
Log:
Bug fix 823

Animated metaballs didn't update correctly when changing frame, this when
they were parented (for example) to an object with Ipo.
The fix consists of three things:

- the test_displist() call doesn't remake displist anymore, but frees it.
this works, because when drawing an mball object it checks for a displist
and creates one when needed
- the main drawing routine drawview3d() now has a separate loop where first
all objects are updated with where_is_object(), then they're drawn.
This effectively solves lag for mballs. Might improve other lags too!
- included in NumPad-9 call to test_displist() too, to force a full upgraded
3d view

-kester
Log:
Fix SConscript for GamePlayer.

-ton
Log:
bug fix 1003

When no object active (after delete) a Panel in IpoWindow drawed wrong.
Solved by disabling drawing panels in such situations

-kester
Log:
Reenable the "Save Runtime..." file menu option

-ton
Log:
Bug 1016

When you use arrow keys to activate items in a menu (like IKEY for Ipos)
the selected items were not correctly choosen when mousepointer was over
an item, only when mousepointer over title.

Fixed by catching 'RETKEY' event in buttons event subloop.

------------------

ouf...

A new build is available

(edit)
know issue: the "save runtime" entry in the menu don't work. There is no player to generate runtime yet...
Last edited by gabio on Tue Apr 13, 2004 1:20 am, edited 3 times in total.

A2597
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 7:42 pm

Postby A2597 » Thu Apr 08, 2004 6:02 pm

T minus 5 minutes....
The man with his head stuck in the Blender.

gabio
Posts: 618
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Postby gabio » Thu Apr 08, 2004 6:25 pm

A2597 wrote:T minus 5 minutes....


ding just in time! as you like it!

gabio
Posts: 618
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Postby gabio » Thu Apr 08, 2004 6:44 pm

By the way the save runtime don't work...

simply because there is no blender player yet. Scons didn't outputed one... i tried to fix it with the old 2.25 player but it output empty file you should no start (can't stop an empty bin file!) or a wrong file.. so for now just look at the runtime menu entry in amazement... dont touch it.

Hush
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 2:50 pm

Postby Hush » Thu Apr 08, 2004 6:55 pm

Just thought I'd ask here since the question was ignored in the game engine thread weeks ago...

Did the stereo code that Raymond did for the blenderplayer get put into the working version yet? Ton was supposed to have received that code from Raymond a while ago...

GFA-MAD
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 7:59 pm

Postby GFA-MAD » Thu Apr 08, 2004 7:31 pm

Blender coders are working hard those day !
I'm on the way to test this build. The dRot is now working ! Cool !

Very very good work !

alien-xmp
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 2:22 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Postby alien-xmp » Fri Apr 09, 2004 1:46 am

blenderplayer:
blenderplayer has yet to be added to scons. It still builds with the makefiles. It can't create runtimes with the 2.25 blenderplayer, because 2.25 blenderplayer requires the .blends to be signed and locked.

stereo:
There is no new stereo code - only what was there before.

gabio
Posts: 618
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Postby gabio » Fri Apr 09, 2004 4:12 am

alien-xmp wrote:blenderplayer:
blenderplayer has yet to be added to scons. It still builds with the makefiles. It can't create runtimes with the 2.25 blenderplayer, because 2.25 blenderplayer requires the .blends to be signed and locked.

stereo:
There is no new stereo code - only what was there before.


HO ok, but this commit was cool:
-kester
Log:
Fix SConscript for GamePlayer.

@ner
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 7:47 pm

Postby @ner » Fri Apr 09, 2004 9:40 am

can somone tell me how do I control the power of the new AO?

crsrma
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 3:47 pm

Postby crsrma » Fri Apr 09, 2004 9:47 am

@ner: I think the only way ATM is by adjusting the Amb setting of shaders.

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 1848
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Postby jesterKing » Fri Apr 09, 2004 11:02 am

gabio wrote:HO ok, but this commit was cool:
-kester
Log:
Fix SConscript for GamePlayer.


This commit took out some superfluous files from the sourcefiles passed to scons in the SConscripts I had added for the GamePlayer. This is still wip since only two libraries are built - no executables yet.

/jesterKing

GFA-MAD
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 7:59 pm

Postby GFA-MAD » Fri Apr 09, 2004 11:14 pm

This build is cool, and except some crash and the "collision" bug, that's all good.
Now, a question: Is it possible to add in the GameEngine a "solid" mode for rendering ? Because for now, it only takes in account Wire mode & Gouraud shaded mode. But what about a solid mode for rapid test ?

Good luck and, again, congratulation to Blender team.

GFA-MAD

ZanQdo
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 4:57 am

Postby ZanQdo » Sun Apr 11, 2004 5:17 am

:idea: What about “select linked bones” for armature edit mode? All the parented bones get selected :)


Return to “Testing Builds”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest