How to import .bvh to the existing armature?

Animation tools, character animation, non linear animation

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

SkyMasterX
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 5:53 am

How to import .bvh to the existing armature?

Postby SkyMasterX » Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:05 pm

Dear all,

Is it posible to import .bvh (mocap) to the existing armature? Please help.

SkyMaster

sten
Posts: 329
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:47 pm

Postby sten » Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:15 pm

I know with the latest Blender 2.34 has a import script for .bvh files, but how to make it work I dont know...

check File ---> Import ---> Motion Capture .bvh

SkyMasterX
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 5:53 am

Postby SkyMasterX » Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:52 pm

I tried that. It can import .bvh perfectly by create the hierachy of empties with IPO movement.

However, I do not know how to link these empties to the bones. Could anyone explain the process that I can use these empties IPO to apply to each bones of my armature?

Please help.

sten
Posts: 329
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:47 pm

Postby sten » Mon Aug 09, 2004 10:08 pm

you could try to start read here about "constraints"
http://www.blender.org/modules/document ... x7045.html

at the end of a armature in posemode, add an extra bone at the tip as a ika-guide, and to that one you can have a empty to parent it to..

so, Posemode --> select outer guidebone...in constrainpanel, add the name of the empty you want to have the movement as the bvh has...I hope it will help some...more docs in a link below:

http://www.blender.org/modules/document ... c6624.html
Last edited by sten on Tue Aug 10, 2004 5:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

sten
Posts: 329
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:47 pm

Postby sten » Mon Aug 09, 2004 10:11 pm

btw...I moved this topic to "Animation" forum, it is better placed there :)

but actually, these questions are better answered (as a user) over at www.elysiun.com, but I dont know if your question/s are development rated...

well, good luck :)

ideasman
Posts: 1000
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:37 pm

Postby ideasman » Tue Aug 10, 2004 2:23 am

Hi, I wrote the BVH importer and exporter.

The best way is to go into pose mode with your existing armature and use constraints to make your armature's bones track to the empties, this can be tricky but has good results in the long run.

- Cam

scourage
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:54 pm

Postby scourage » Wed Aug 11, 2004 5:47 am

Ideasman,

I had used your script to create one that makes an armature and animates it instead of empties. However, I don't have it quite right. If you have time, would you mind taking a look and help me find the bugs? Thanks for your time.

Cheers,

Bob
http://bane.servebeer.com/programming/blender

PS. Good work with the renderfarm script. I can't wait to try it out.
Halfway down the trail to hell....

ideasman
Posts: 1000
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:37 pm

Postby ideasman » Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:16 am

BVH rotations are a megga pain- it could be todo with order you apply the rotations in (BVH isnt like blender)

scourage
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:54 pm

Postby scourage » Wed Aug 11, 2004 11:42 am

ok, I'll look at the order of the rotations. I hadn't thought of that. Thanks!

Cheers,

Bob
Halfway down the trail to hell....

Monkeyboi
Posts: 561
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 1:24 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Postby Monkeyboi » Mon Aug 23, 2004 12:19 am

I've applied a .bvh motion capture animation to an armature, which looked great, but as soon as I applied my mesh things got horribly wrong. The bones follow the right empties, but they are rotated wrongly along their local z axis. Is there a way to solve this?

My file is here:

http://www.shadeless.dk/files/mocap_boxer.zip

If the Bake command would let me bake Track To constraints I could manually adjust the bone rotations, but it doesn't seem to be possible.

an-toni
Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 5:20 pm

Postby an-toni » Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:53 am

any news on this?

scourage
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:54 pm

Postby scourage » Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:47 am

The problem that I'm running into with my bvh importer is that when the joints are not all in the same plane, some of bones get a roll induced in them that messes up the animation (usually along the z axis). This roll is a local roll, and when the world roll is applied from the BVH data, it gets all funky. I'm looking at zeroing this roll or adjusting the BVH data so that it's only a local roll, but I've been lazy and haven't done it yet.

Cheers,

Bob
Halfway down the trail to hell....


Return to “Animation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests