Linux Alt-A Playback = Instant Blender Crash

Animation tools, character animation, non linear animation

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Pablosbrain
Posts: 356
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 7:39 pm

Linux Alt-A Playback = Instant Blender Crash

Postby Pablosbrain » Mon Nov 29, 2004 10:42 pm

Anyone else have this problem?

Opening up a .blend with some objects animated and then pressing Alt-A blender proceeds to crash instantly.
I'm currently running on Redhat Fedora Core 3. I've tried 2.35/a/b all with the same result. A segmentation fault is all thats displayed with no additional output. Is this something being fixed for the next Bug Fix release they are working on according to the email discussions? or should I submit to the tracker?

z3r0_d
Posts: 1522
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 2:38 am
Contact:

Postby z3r0_d » Mon Nov 29, 2004 11:11 pm

have you tried disabling audio?

Pablosbrain
Posts: 356
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 7:39 pm

Postby Pablosbrain » Mon Nov 29, 2004 11:20 pm

Yup... I'm pretty sure thats in my .b.blend file. I'll verify that tonight after work though.

basse
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2002 11:10 pm

Postby basse » Tue Nov 30, 2004 6:48 pm

last time something like this was happening, it was fedora core 2 SDL packages, that were built in a certain way that caused trouble. I wouldn't be surprised if they still are doing that :)

to fix it, was an enviroment variable to be set.

"export SDL_AUDIODRIVER=dma"

it was quite horrible when this happened. and it was quite a debug session and I think it was Unnamed who finally thought about this dma thingy.. don't remember anymore. it ended up into FAQ too .. http://www.blender3d.org/cms/Linux.301.0.html#1484

just one of the reasons that made me switch to debian, finally :)

.b

ArkyMedia
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:33 am

Crash!!

Postby ArkyMedia » Tue Jan 18, 2005 3:22 am

I had this happen too. I compiled it from source as a 64-bit version and it works fine now.

hanspb
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 6:08 pm

Postby hanspb » Wed Feb 02, 2005 4:12 pm

This happened to me once. At that time I was playing a cd (music) with Kaffeine. It has never happened when I have no sound, so it's got something to do with sound. Quite annoying for those who like listening to music while blendering. (Blender 2.36, Mandrake 10.1, Alsa 1.0.6 sound driver).

Hans Petter

stiv
Posts: 3646
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Postby stiv » Wed Feb 02, 2005 5:22 pm

The problem is two applications trying to grab the same sound device. This is a system issue and not an application problem. For this to work, you need a mixer or sound daemon that allows multiple connections to the sound device.


Return to “Animation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests