Problem with sequence images not displaying.

Animation tools, character animation, non linear animation

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

DYeater
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 9:25 pm
Location: Enon, Ohio USA

Problem with sequence images not displaying.

Postby DYeater » Sun Apr 03, 2005 2:59 am

Please visit this site and see a serious problem I am having with trying to use the sequencer to composite a scene. I have had no luck with anybody at Elysiun, so I hope somebody here may be familiar with this problem, or have something I can do to try and "patch" something:

http://www.elysiun.com/forum/viewtopic. ... highlight=

Just in case you need to know, I am using Blender 2.36 (problem also exists in the latest cvs test build) on an AMD Athlon 1 GHZ processor with 128 MB ram with an NVidia GEForce graphics card.

SirDude
Posts: 941
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:37 pm
Location: University of Minnesota (USA)
Contact:

Postby SirDude » Mon Apr 04, 2005 2:27 pm

I made the following test and it worked for me, does it work for you?

http://www.cs.umn.edu/~mein/blender/test

If I had to guess at this point there is something that blender doesn't like
about those two png's. However the ones I downloaded from your post
worked just fine for me in the sequencer.

If this simple test I have works for you basically what you need to do is
try and reproduce the problem your having with a smaller file.
So we can take a look at it and try to figure out whats going on.

DYeater
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 9:25 pm
Location: Enon, Ohio USA

Postby DYeater » Thu Apr 07, 2005 6:55 am

I appreciate your suggestion, but I re-rendered all png images that were ignored by the sequencer. They are still ignored. I've tried moving them to different directories, but no good. Each of the ignored files loads just fine in Gimp, and yes, the alpha channel is good.

The only way that I can say that something is repeatable, is the fact that once an image is "ignored", it stays ignored. The funny thing is, the background image (clouds saved as png files, regular rgb, "sky" selected) still displays, just the foreground alpha image doesn't show up.

Of about 700 frames, I've counted as many as four frames that won't load into the sequencer.

If nobody else has ever reported this problem, it leads me to believe that either I am the only one using the sequencer (unlikely) or there is something about my Blender setup or computer setup that the sequencer doesn't like.

I have tried re-installing Blender 2.36, but that did no good. I've tried using the latest cvs build, but to no avail.

I am really a great lover of Blender, but this just puts a halt to any attempt to finish a project. I sure hope that somebody has a suggestion of how this problem can be narrowed down.

Thanks to all of you who read this, and especially to those that try to help.

SirDude
Posts: 941
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:37 pm
Location: University of Minnesota (USA)
Contact:

Postby SirDude » Thu Apr 07, 2005 2:39 pm

Did you try the test I came up with? If so what were the results?

Can you provide an example file that has the problem so we can
debug it?

I'm not trying to sound like a jerk here but we need this info to find the
problem. If you want you can email me a sample file instead of posting
it.

mein@cs.umn.edu

Thanks,

Kent

DYeater
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 9:25 pm
Location: Enon, Ohio USA

Postby DYeater » Thu Apr 07, 2005 7:20 pm

Yes, I tried the test ... and it failed. I have emailed you an archived file with the blend, the png images, and a short divx movie showing my result.

Hope this helps.


Return to “Animation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest