SVN Release shows no buttons at startup

Compiling, libraries, modules, coding guidelines and porting

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

squish
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:07 pm

SVN Release shows no buttons at startup

Postby squish » Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:32 pm

Hi,
I've encountered a problem with the current svn release. Blender doesn't draw any buttons and therefore it is not useable. It looks like this:
http://666kb.com/i/brlilxpktwl6apf6f.png

the output reads as follows:

Info: Config directory with "startup.blend" file not found.
bpy: couldnt find 'scripts/modules', blender probably wont start.
search for unknown operator WM_OT_context_set_enum, WM_OT_context_set_enum
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.data_path not found.
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.value not found.
search for unknown operator WM_OT_context_set_enum, WM_OT_context_set_enum
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.data_path not found.
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.value not found.
search for unknown operator WM_OT_context_set_enum, WM_OT_context_set_enum
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.data_path not found.
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.value not found.
search for unknown operator WM_OT_context_set_enum, WM_OT_context_set_enum
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.data_path not found.
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.value not found.
search for unknown operator WM_OT_context_set_enum, WM_OT_context_set_enum
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.data_path not found.
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.value not found.
search for unknown operator WM_OT_context_set_enum, WM_OT_context_set_enum
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.data_path not found.
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.value not found.
search for unknown operator WM_OT_context_set_enum, WM_OT_context_set_enum
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.data_path not found.
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.value not found.
search for unknown operator WM_OT_context_set_enum, WM_OT_context_set_enum
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.data_path not found.
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.value not found.
search for unknown operator WM_OT_context_set_enum, WM_OT_context_set_enum
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.data_path not found.
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.value not found.
search for unknown operator WM_OT_context_set_enum, WM_OT_context_set_enum
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.data_path not found.
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.value not found.
search for unknown operator WM_OT_context_set_enum, WM_OT_context_set_enum
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.data_path not found.
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.value not found.
search for unknown operator RENDER_OT_play_rendered_anim, RENDER_OT_play_rendered_anim
search for unknown operator WM_OT_context_cycle_enum, WM_OT_context_cycle_enum
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.data_path not found.
search for unknown operator WM_OT_context_toggle, WM_OT_context_toggle
RNA_string_set: OperatorProperties.data_path not found.
search for unknown operator OBJECT_OT_select_hierarchy, OBJECT_OT_select_hierarchy
RNA_enum_set_identifier: OperatorProperties.direction not found.
search for unknown operator OBJECT_OT_select_hierarchy, OBJECT_OT_select_hierarchy
RNA_enum_set_identifier: OperatorProperties.direction not found.
RNA_boolean_set: OperatorProperties.extend not found.
[...]

And goes on and on.

I've encountered that problem in the past, but I've just reinstalled my operating system and I have forgotten how to solve it. Anyways, the official Beta 2.56 works fine, but the compiled SVN version or the nightly images I've tried don't.

My OS is the recent stable distribution of Debian Linux. I hat to compile and install Python3.2 before I could compile Blender with CMAKE.



It would be nice if someone could tell me what blenders problem is and how I can solve it.

Metallord
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 12:42 pm

Postby Metallord » Wed Mar 09, 2011 12:50 pm

I can confirm the same happens on AMD64 Gentoo. I played around with build options using ccmake and everything seems ok, but despite proper options be switched on, no files get copied to the bin folder (except the executable itself). My last working build had the scripts folder there and so on (during compilation it was putting "Copying a subset of systems python" etc.). Now it simply doesn't happen and it seems it's the lack of these files that causes blender to malfunction. As in the second line of the output above:
bpy: couldnt find 'scripts/modules', blender probably wont start.

The scripts/modules folders were definately there in the bin folder during my last successful build.

squish
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:07 pm

Postby squish » Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:37 pm

Thanks for the confirmation.
I've filed a bugreport, and I hope this issue is getting fixed soon:

http://projects.blender.org/tracker/ind ... 9&atid=498

squish
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:07 pm

Postby squish » Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:44 pm

I just managed to get blender compiled via SCONS and now it seems to work. Therefore the problem is related to the CMAKE configuration and building with SCONS seems to be a workaround.

Before anyone wastes time searching for how to compile with scons, the relevant documents are:

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:2 ... stro/Scons
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:2 ... h_in_SCons
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:2 ... ns/Options

Metallord
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 12:42 pm

Postby Metallord » Wed Mar 09, 2011 9:47 pm

Defeated it with "make install" :P It copies all the necessary files where they're needed and it works. Previously the make command was all it needed, but it seems that something's changed and make install is required if you want it to work the way it did before. Hope this also works for you. Cheers. :)

alexanderk7
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 12:35 pm

Postby alexanderk7 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 12:47 pm

I have exactly the same problem, but on Windows XP 32bit (service pack 3).
The output keeps saying "python line lookup failed" and keeps trying to find it before giving up.
This happened to me in both 2.57b AND 2.62. These are the only two versions I downloaded.

I'd be grateful if you could tell me how to fix it as I'm new to blender and have little experience in coding.

Thanks.

stiv
Posts: 3646
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Postby stiv » Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm

Are you having problems running blender you compiled yourself or blender you downloaded from blender.org?

alexanderk7
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 12:35 pm

Postby alexanderk7 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:56 pm

I downloaded the installer and archive from Blender.org


Return to “Coding Blender”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 0 guests