Need help adding Translate function for Maya layout

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Rxanadu
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 11:38 pm

Need help adding Translate function for Maya layout

Postby Rxanadu » Fri Oct 05, 2012 4:02 pm

I just downloaded the new 2.64 update this morning, and I'm having trouble adding the Translate to the Object menu of the Input section in User Preferences. I'm well acquainted with the Maya layout, so trying trying to learn the Blender layout would be a much larger step back for me.

I know I need the function 'bpy.ops.transform.translate()', but I'm not getting anywhere with adding that to the list of functions. I've also tried variations on this (e.g. adding 'object.' to the beginning of the function, removing the 'bpy.ops' references from the function, etc.) with no luck.

Any assistance will be appreciated.

P.S. I've already tried the default 'Shift G' hotkey, but the default Maya layout only allows me to create groups.

Rxanadu
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 11:38 pm

Postby Rxanadu » Mon Oct 08, 2012 2:52 pm

Never mind. I found out how to change the Translate function:

User Preferences > Input > choose Maya layout > 3D view > 3D View (global) > change Translate (Shift G) to Translate (G)

Previously, I had to add the Translate function to both Object and Mesh view layouts, which became a pain. I'm glad Blender finally fixed that little issue.


Return to “News & Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests