[Official 2.64 r51026] Cycles crashes every time

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

MatejMo
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 9:24 am

[Official 2.64 r51026] Cycles crashes every time

Postby MatejMo » Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:25 am

Hi!

I downloaded the official Blender 2.64 yesterday, but unfortunately rendering with Cycles doesn't work. It crashes every time with:

Code: Select all

CUDA error: Invalid value in cuLaunchGrid(cuDisplace, xblocks, 1)


Official 2.64 RC2 works ok though.

My specs:

* Linux Mint 64 bit
* GTX 570 2.5GB
* Nvidia 295.75 drivers
* CUDA toolkit 4.0.17 (with 4.2 is the same problem)

Any suggestions what could be wrong?

Gilgamos
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 7:52 pm

Re: [Official 2.64 r51026] Cycles crashes every time

Postby Gilgamos » Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:00 pm

Unfortunately, I got the same problem today.

- system: Win7 64Bit
- graphics card: Quadro FX4000

Thanks for help.

MatejMo
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 9:24 am

Postby MatejMo » Mon Oct 08, 2012 9:56 am

Hi.

The solution in my case was to disable Sample as Lamp in the World tab -> Settings panel.

Gilgamos
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 7:52 pm

Postby Gilgamos » Mon Oct 08, 2012 10:45 am

Thanks for your workaround MatejMo - worked for me, too. Hopefully this bug will be fixed quickly, so that "sample as lamp" can still be used in connection with cycles. (I think, it helps a lot to improve Renderquality especially with HDRI-Lighting)

MatejMo
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 9:24 am

Postby MatejMo » Mon Oct 15, 2012 6:01 pm

This problem was solved in 2.64a, "sample as lamp" does not produce a crash anymore.

But, and this is kinda weird, if I have that option enabled, I hear a "screeching" noise (supposedly coming from my graphic card) every time the render re-starts (ie. I tweak something that causes render re-start).

And it gets even more weird: the noise is louder, the bigger the map resolution is.

Should I be worried? Is Cycles somehow violating my graphic card? :lol:

Has anyone else noticed such behavior?

stiv
Posts: 3646
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Postby stiv » Mon Oct 15, 2012 11:27 pm

Noisy fan bearing?

MatejMo
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 9:24 am

Postby MatejMo » Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:45 pm

stiv wrote:Noisy fan bearing?

No, no way. This noise happens only under the conditions mentioned (2.64a if "sample as lamp" is enabled), I can render in Cycles and Octane for hours, without any fan or other noises. The card is also only two weeks old.

It's a subtle "screeching" "beep" noise, that happens once when render re-start is triggered in Cycles.

I said its was weird :)


Return to “Testing Builds”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 0 guests