who wants 16 bits

Game Engine, Players & Web Plug-in, Virtual Reality, support for other engines

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Do you want 16 bits?

yes
19
86%
no
3
14%
 
Total votes: 22

Blender_owl
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2002 10:35 pm

who wants 16 bits

Postby Blender_owl » Tue Nov 19, 2002 8:26 pm

Poll. Wouldn't it be nice if we had 16 bit textures in stead of the crappy 8 bit.

Saluk
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 6:52 am

Postby Saluk » Tue Nov 19, 2002 11:20 pm

Yes, that would be nice, although if you are careful with your textures you can make them look pretty good at only 8 bits. Because each texture uses its own pallette.

But more bits would be betta:)

Bandoler
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 3:16 pm
Location: Somewhere between the 1 and the 0

I'm going to flame you

Postby Bandoler » Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:20 am

What kind of nonsense poll is this?
Why don't you ask "Do you want a better engine? (Yes/No)" ?
Polls are supposed to clarify things that you don't know what opinion the community has about them. Not to enforce your ego having 100% of people saying your option is better and rejecting the other "crappy" option.

Don't take it as something personal, but this is not the first poll in these forums like this.

(bandoler)

wiseman303
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 8:14 am

Postby wiseman303 » Sat Dec 07, 2002 12:01 am

saluk wrote:Yes, that would be nice, although if you are careful with your textures you can make them look pretty good at only 8 bits. Because each texture uses its own pallette.


I did an experiment to test that. The way i tested it was to make an image that was divided into 256 boxes, each a different colour (thus, 256 colours), and UV mapped it to a plane. The resulting object in the 3d window had several of the colours blended together, resulting in much less total colours.

This suggests that textures are converted to a global palette in the game engine, but I'm going to do some more testing, maybe with higher contrast between adjacent blocks.

Saluk
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 6:52 am

Postby Saluk » Sat Dec 07, 2002 1:11 am

I never thought to test it, that sounds pretty bad:(

Why does it render slower in 32 bit then???

wiseman303
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 8:14 am

Postby wiseman303 » Sun Dec 08, 2002 4:11 am

saluk wrote:Why does it render slower in 32 bit then???


Hmm... I think that although textures are converted to 8 bit, vertex colours (including changes from light or fog) and world (background) colours are displayed at the bit depth that windows is running at.

I don't really have time for lots of in-depth testing, because i'm bussy with school work and the game contest (not neccessarily in that order though :) ) I'll do more tests when I get the time.

joeri
Posts: 2243
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Postby joeri » Tue Jan 14, 2003 4:18 pm

:? I dont get this poll...

Blender can handle 32bit textures.
As a matter of fact, it even handles 16 bit tga's...

Or did you mean 16 bit per channel?
Then I rather have a 4 byte float per channel.
Although that sounds like killing a muskito with a shotgun IMO.

-Joeri

Recall
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 5:57 pm
Location: The Netherlands...
Contact:

Postby Recall » Fri Feb 21, 2003 6:34 pm

What is wrong with 16 bit? it works doesn't it? those crapy hardware...

:x :x :x :x :idea: :?: :!: :arrow:

stuuf133t
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 2:38 am

Postby stuuf133t » Sun Mar 02, 2003 12:10 am

What? no CowboyNeal? all polls need a 'I have no idea what your poll is talking about, but i'm voting because i saw it' option.


Return to “Interactive 3d”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest