Network rendering

Blender's renderer and external renderer export

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

SvenP
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 12:17 pm

Network rendering

Postby SvenP » Thu Oct 17, 2002 12:23 pm

I'm not shure, but I think there is no cross-plattform redering tool for Blender out there.
There is a pure Window and a Linux tool, but no possibility to render a movie on a render farm with different OSs.
May I'm wrong. Would be good. If not I think it would be very cool to build this possibility into the Blender render.

:shock:

S68
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 12:58 pm

Postby S68 » Thu Oct 17, 2002 2:17 pm

Here's a command line hack

http://www.elysiun.com/viewtopic.php?t=5003

It is Multi-platform as soon as platforms are almost-unix (Win + CygWin will do)

I'm working on a GUI in my very spare time :)

Stefano

Sverre
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2002 11:52 pm

What about the renderdaemon/broker?

Postby Sverre » Thu Oct 17, 2002 9:07 pm

There is the rederdaemon/broker-combo. I Used it for cross-platform rendering. Don't know where to find it anymore though.

What will happen to it now, anyway? It was an opensource-project, after all.

Sverre

WeWa
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2002 3:00 am

Postby WeWa » Sat Oct 26, 2002 3:02 am

If i'm not mistaken Excelent Whale had created one. It was pretty good with great GUI and all, just that I don't think he finished it... :roll:

WeWa

Doomsday
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2002 1:34 am

Render on parallel machines

Postby Doomsday » Fri Nov 01, 2002 1:45 am

Hello everyone.
I have new to blender and I would like to know if it have the posibility to use a multiprocesor machine to do rendering.
I'm asking this because I have access to a SUN Enterprise 5500 with 10 processors and to an old Power Challenge of Silicon Graphics.

Thanks for the help. :? :?:

WeWa
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2002 3:00 am

Postby WeWa » Fri Nov 01, 2002 5:27 pm

hey doomsday, if it doesn't will you give me your PC? okey fine... your motherboard? :lol:
I don't know what the answer is to your question.

WeWa

ton
Site Admin
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:13 am
Contact:

Postby ton » Sat Nov 02, 2002 3:24 pm

We had an open-source render deamon project running at the old site. Hans Lambermont (ex NaN engineer, still very active here) was managing it, and is very interested in bringing it back.

The system had the technology ready, but really lacked a good GUI to make it friendly to use for everyone.

I've asked Hans about this, stay tuned for news.

fjmm1
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 8:43 am

Re: Render on parallel machines

Postby fjmm1 » Tue Nov 26, 2002 8:52 am

Doomsday wrote:Hello everyone.
I have new to blender and I would like to know if it have the posibility to use a multiprocesor machine to do rendering.
I'm asking this because I have access to a SUN Enterprise 5500 with 10 processors and to an old Power Challenge of Silicon Graphics.

Thanks for the help. :? :?:



Yes, you can use the SUN for rendering. You need to start a process for each processor that you have.

For example, if you have a file called file.blend, and you can render from 1 to 1000, you only need to start 10 blender processes:

blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 1 -e 100&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 101 -e 200&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 201 -e 300&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 301 -e 400&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 401 -e 500&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 501 -e 600&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 601 -e 700&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 701 -e 800&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 801 -e 900&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 901 -e 1000&

Doomsday
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2002 1:34 am

Re: Render on parallel machines

Postby Doomsday » Thu Feb 27, 2003 4:13 pm

fjmm1 wrote:

Yes, you can use the SUN for rendering. You need to start a process for each processor that you have.

For example, if you have a file called file.blend, and you can render from 1 to 1000, you only need to start 10 blender processes:

blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 1 -e 100&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 101 -e 200&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 201 -e 300&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 301 -e 400&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 401 -e 500&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 501 -e 600&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 601 -e 700&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 701 -e 800&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 801 -e 900&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 901 -e 1000&


Thanks for the help. I'll do some tests on these servers and I'll keep you posted about the results.

Can I ask you a favor? could you explain in a little more detail what is the meaning of the commands you wrote?
thanks again :)

SirDude
Posts: 941
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:37 pm
Location: University of Minnesota (USA)
Contact:

Postby SirDude » Thu Feb 27, 2003 4:40 pm

type blender -h to see what the options stand for.
It explains it rather nicely.

fjmm1
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 8:43 am

Re: Render on parallel machines

Postby fjmm1 » Thu Feb 27, 2003 11:19 pm

Doomsday wrote:
fjmm1 wrote:
-a -- Animation. Yo want to render an animation.
- b xxx.blend -- You need to know what file you want to render.
-S [1..N] -- The scene that you want to render
- s [1..N] -- the start frame
- e [1..N] -- the stop frame

Type "blender" -h if you want more help.

Yes, you can use the SUN for rendering. You need to start a process for each processor that you have.

For example, if you have a file called file.blend, and you can render from 1 to 1000, you only need to start 10 blender processes:

blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 1 -e 100&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 101 -e 200&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 201 -e 300&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 301 -e 400&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 401 -e 500&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 501 -e 600&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 601 -e 700&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 701 -e 800&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 801 -e 900&
blender -a -b file.blend -S 1 -s 901 -e 1000&


Thanks for the help. I'll do some tests on these servers and I'll keep you posted about the results.

Can I ask you a favor? could you explain in a little more detail what is the meaning of the commands you wrote?
thanks again :)


Return to “Rendering”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests