Why is the Z-Axis up in Blender?

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Bizzle

Why is the Z-Axis up in Blender?

Postby Bizzle » Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:33 am

IS there a reason why the Z-Axis is the up axis in Blender when in almost every other package, Y is up, X is left to right, and Z is depth?

Is there a way to change it?

leroi

Postby leroi » Wed Mar 28, 2007 4:08 am

I noticed this as well; but, I am totally new to 3D modeling and Blender so I can't help...albeit I'd still like to know

I have the newest 2.43 version also
and I can not find the sub-serf option either

It was called for in another tut on this site making the vase...and it
is not located where they said it was... :roll:

--leroi--

joeri

Postby joeri » Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:19 am

There are two axis systems. "Right hand" and "Left hand". Google is your friend.
Blender is creative based, not construction based. In this vision we see "depth" as something forward, not as "up". In 'normal' life UP can be regarded as height so that would be the -Z axes.
I think you will find that older packages use Z as the axis moving away from you, like in spreadsheets, X to the right, Y up and Z the pages.

I thought the whole matrix reconstruction by Martin was done to make Axis swapping possible, but I'm not sure what the status on that is.

joeri

Postby joeri » Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:23 am

leroi wrote:I have the newest 2.43 version also
--leroi--

This question is answered very often on this forum, so a little search would have brought you the answer pretty fast. And even better would be to pose this question at a user forum. I'm told blenderartists.org is a good one.

Ai, yes, euh,... the sub-surf is moved from a separate function to the modifiers list. That's a good place to look for other missing functions anyway and contains many new great additions.

leroi

Postby leroi » Wed Mar 28, 2007 5:34 pm

joeri wrote: