Previous Thread  Next Thread

chat icon Guides for compiling Blender

etr9j

Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 1:46 pm
Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 35
Hey Nathan, thanks for taking a look at it. Since I never went the python route to configure the flags I was wondering if you could clarify. Do you mean use the user config file through scons which will then use cl.exe or do you mean using the config file as a script that MSVC will recognize (i.e. no scons involvement)?
Reply with quote


jesterKing

Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 1:53 pm
Joined: 18 Oct 2002
Posts: 1851
etr9j wrote:
Hey Nathan, thanks for taking a look at it. Since I never went the python route to configure the flags I was wondering if you could clarify. Do you mean use the user config file through scons which will then use cl.exe or do you mean using the config file as a script that MSVC will recognize (i.e. no scons involvement)?


If you build blender with Scons/msvc, then cl.exe et al will be used to compile the source and link the final binary. By setting the proper flags in your user-config.py (or directly in win32-vc.py, if you must) you can ie. tell the compiler to create optimised code.

So if you have a user-config.py in the Blender root dir (where the top SConstruct also resides), the file will be used with the settings in it. This has all been documented in the scons documents in the doc/ directory of the sources of Blender Smile

/Nathan
_________________
Planet Blender | BlenderStorm | #blender.fi | Letwory Interactive
Reply with quote


etr9j

Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 5:53 pm
Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 35
Okay, I made the revision to the optimization section. Care to take a look to see if I got it right? I'm more interested if I have the toolset correct (=msvc right?).

Thanks for the help Nathan!
Reply with quote


jesterKing

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 1:25 pm
Joined: 18 Oct 2002
Posts: 1851
Looks fine Smile

/Nathan
_________________
Planet Blender | BlenderStorm | #blender.fi | Letwory Interactive
Reply with quote


deepankar

Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:32 am
Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 34
i have tried to compile blender 2.44 in mandriva 2006(linux) usin make file.can any want help with some inputs as how to proceed
_________________
D J Senapati
Reply with quote


mpan3

Posted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 5:57 am
Joined: 24 Mar 2004
Posts: 154
can you by any chance add the following two guide:

2.45 on Windows with Scons/MinGW
http://mpan3.homeip.net/?compileblender2

2.45 on Windows with Cmake/MSVC9
http://www.geneome.net/index.php/blender-tutorials/building-blender-with-msvc-using-cmake/
_________________
Blender
Reply with quote


jesterKing

Posted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:45 am
Joined: 18 Oct 2002
Posts: 1851
mpan3 wrote:

2.45 on Windows with Scons/MinGW
http://mpan3.homeip.net/?compileblender2


I think you can use the libpython25.a from C:\Python25\libs - that should be lib compatible with mingw gcc

/Nathan
_________________
Planet Blender | BlenderStorm | #blender.fi | Letwory Interactive
Reply with quote


mpan3

Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 2:48 am
Joined: 24 Mar 2004
Posts: 154
jesterKing wrote:
mpan3 wrote:

2.45 on Windows with Scons/MinGW
http://mpan3.homeip.net/?compileblender2


I think you can use the libpython25.a from C:\Python25\libs - that should be lib compatible with mingw gcc

/Nathan


i do not have a dot a file within the c:\python25 directory at all...
_________________
Blender
Reply with quote


jesterKing

Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 6:44 am
Joined: 18 Oct 2002
Posts: 1851
mpan3 wrote:
jesterKing wrote:
mpan3 wrote:

2.45 on Windows with Scons/MinGW
http://mpan3.homeip.net/?compileblender2


I think you can use the libpython25.a from C:\Python25\libs - that should be lib compatible with mingw gcc

/Nathan


i do not have a dot a file within the c:\python25 directory at all...


Interesting. I just confirmed on 4 machines on which I installed python 2.5 using the official installer from the python website, that there is a libpython25.a in the C:\Python25\libs directory. And I have helped during the past week two persons getting Blender compiled on mingw/scons with the suggestion to copy the file to the proper lib/windows/python library directory Smile

/Nathan
_________________
Planet Blender | BlenderStorm | #blender.fi | Letwory Interactive
Reply with quote


mpan3

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:21 am
Joined: 24 Mar 2004
Posts: 154
Are any of the PC running x64 by any chance Wink

I was using the Python AMD64 binary, maybe that's why. Do you think it's 'safe' to install the 32bit binary on my PC? Running Server 2003 x64.
_________________
Blender
Reply with quote


jesterKing

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 4:27 pm
Joined: 18 Oct 2002
Posts: 1851
It is not possible to build 64bit blender yet, unless you have compiled all dependencies for Blender Smile Then there remains still the issue of Blender being 64bit clean for Windows - it hasn't been tested, and no-one has been working on it.

I guess you'll have to stick with the 32bit versions.

/Nathan
_________________
Planet Blender | BlenderStorm | #blender.fi | Letwory Interactive
Reply with quote


mpan3

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 2:27 am
Joined: 24 Mar 2004
Posts: 154
I know, it's just that I thought since I was running a 64bit OS, I should need the 64bit python environment (like Java and .NET framework), even to build 32bit blender Embarassed
_________________
Blender
Reply with quote


dotty

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 11:31 am
Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Posts: 2
I am working on my master thesis and I am desperately trying to compile blender on a ia64 linux machine (64 bits). Unfortunately I am not very successful and got stuck -- left with no ideas. Has someone of you succeeded in compiling blender on a similar machine?

jesterKing wrote:
I guess you'll have to stick with the 32bit versions.

My problem is that my thesis is about performance issues. I can run a 32bit version of blender on this machine only by emulating, which grants a very very poor performance...

I searched quite a lot, but I didn't find something that could help me. I'd be thankful of every hint I get!

sarah

PS I got stuck because of the following error (during make in sources):
Code:
/usr/lib/libpthread.a(pthread.o)(.text+0x28c0):/usr/src/packages/BUILD/glibc-2.3/linuxthreads/pthread.c:369: undefined reference to `_errno'
/usr/lib/libpthread.a(pthread.o)(.text+0x28c1):/usr/src/packages/BUILD/glibc-2.3/linuxthreads/pthread.c:404: undefined reference to `_dl_cpuclock_offset'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [/home/cb56/cb561088/blenderSVN/blender/obj/linux-glibc2.3.5-ia64/bin/blender] Error 1
make: Leaving directory `/home/cb56/cb561088/blenderSVN/blender/source'
cb561088@altix1:~/blenderSVN/blender/source $
Reply with quote


LetterRip

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 1:10 am
Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 1462
for linux ia64 there is already prebuilt blender,

https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/hardy/ia64/blender/2.45-3ubuntu1

it is windows that there are no 64 bit builds,

LetterRip
Reply with quote


mpan3

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 1:14 am
Joined: 24 Mar 2004
Posts: 154
You are trying to compile Blender on IA-64 architecture? I can't really help you with the building process since I don't have access to an Itanium processor, but a simple google returns a Blender IA64 binary: https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/hardy/ia64/blender/2.45-3ubuntu1
_________________
Blender
Reply with quote


Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
 
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group