Guides for compiling Blender

Compiling, libraries, modules, coding guidelines and porting

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

kestion
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 8:13 am

Re: video guide build blender 2.5x

Postby kestion » Tue Aug 30, 2011 9:17 pm

The Vimeo actually had the best resolution for me. Thanks.

candre
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:14 am

win7 x64 build - trunk

Postby candre » Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:51 am

Hi all

im following this guide:

Building x64 targets with Visual C++ 2008 Express:
It's possible to build 64 bit versions of Blender using Visual C++ express from microsoft, and windows 7 x64 editions

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:2 ... 08_Express
---------------------
And then this step:
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:2 ... msvc/Scons

This is how to build Blender from its SVN source using Microsoft compiler with Scons. Except if specifically noted you can use the free Microsoft Visual C++ Express instead of the full Microsoft Visual Studio.
------------------
I trying to compile using cycles with CUDA so i learn

Building Cycles:
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:2 ... s/Building

And about CUDA:

Download the CUDA Toolkit and install, and make sure you have recent enough nvidia drivers (e.g. 270.X or newer)


Everything works fine... no errors... but


when i select cycles > render > display

only can see CPU option

no GPU option... no CUDA


What im doing wrong ?

any help is welcome

-----------
user-config.py

WITH_BF_FFMPEG = True
WITH_BF_GAMEENGINE = True
WITH_BF_BULLET = True
WITH_BF_PLAYER = True
WITH_BF_ODE = False
WITH_BF_OPENEXR = True
WITH_BF_FTGL = True
WITH_BF_FMOD = False
WITH_BF_FREETYPE = True
WITH_BF_COLLADA = True
WITH_BF_BOOST = True
WITH_BF_CYCLES = True
WITH_CYCLES_CUDA_BINARIES = True
WITH_BF_DDS = True
WITH_BF_OPENAL = True
WITH_BF_SDL = True
WITH_BF_ICONV = True
WITH_BF_FFTW3 = False
WITH_BUILDINFO = True
WITH_BF_RAYOPTIMIZATION = True
BF_DEBUG = False
BF_NUMJOBS = 5

WITH_BF_OPENMP = False

mcleary
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 7:54 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: win7 x64 build - trunk

Postby mcleary » Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:56 am

candre wrote:Hi all

im following this guide:

Building x64 targets with Visual C++ 2008 Express:
It's possible to build 64 bit versions of Blender using Visual C++ express from microsoft, and windows 7 x64 editions

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:2 ... 08_Express
---------------------
And then this step:
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:2 ... msvc/Scons

This is how to build Blender from its SVN source using Microsoft compiler with Scons. Except if specifically noted you can use the free Microsoft Visual C++ Express instead of the full Microsoft Visual Studio.
------------------
I trying to compile using cycles with CUDA so i learn

Building Cycles:
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:2 ... s/Building

And about CUDA:

Download the CUDA Toolkit and install, and make sure you have recent enough nvidia drivers (e.g. 270.X or newer)


Everything works fine... no errors... but


when i select cycles > render > display

only can see CPU option

no GPU option... no CUDA


What im doing wrong ?

any help is welcome

-----------
user-config.py

WITH_BF_FFMPEG = True
WITH_BF_GAMEENGINE = True
WITH_BF_BULLET = True
WITH_BF_PLAYER = True
WITH_BF_ODE = False
WITH_BF_OPENEXR = True
WITH_BF_FTGL = True
WITH_BF_FMOD = False
WITH_BF_FREETYPE = True
WITH_BF_COLLADA = True
WITH_BF_BOOST = True
WITH_BF_CYCLES = True
WITH_CYCLES_CUDA_BINARIES = True
WITH_BF_DDS = True
WITH_BF_OPENAL = True
WITH_BF_SDL = True
WITH_BF_ICONV = True
WITH_BF_FFTW3 = False
WITH_BUILDINFO = True
WITH_BF_RAYOPTIMIZATION = True
BF_DEBUG = False
BF_NUMJOBS = 5

WITH_BF_OPENMP = False


Open the User Preferences (Ctrl Alt U), go to System and then choose a Device in the Compute Device section. Be sure to select your graphics card.

After this, GPU Compute option will be available in the Render Panel.
Anyday, anytime, anywhere

theugly
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 9:40 am

Postby theugly » Sun Jul 14, 2013 9:52 am

what does it mean if my graphic card is not listed?

mcleary
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 7:54 pm
Location: Brazil

Postby mcleary » Sun Jul 14, 2013 4:22 pm

theugly wrote:what does it mean if my graphic card is not listed?


It probably means your GPU doesn't support CUDA.

Which graphics card do you have?
Anyday, anytime, anywhere


Return to “Coding Blender”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest