Vote for displacement mapping

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

When should we get displacement mapping ?

Now !
17
81%
Next year
4
19%
 
Total votes: 21

Money_YaY!
Posts: 876
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 2:47 pm

Vote for displacement mapping

Postby Money_YaY! » Fri Apr 04, 2003 5:51 pm

I am just so befuddled that we of all Programs
do not have displacement mapping yet.

I know of noise and hash. But that is not real.

I am talking true simple greyscale image on any thing
of any shape taking on the image in elevation.

Every other progy worth it's grain of salt that costs money
has it. So why not us ?

just a simple button in the material area would do the trick.

So please vote YES ! on form referenda 1 : To pass the bill to build Displacement mapping.

tar :twisted:

cessen
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2002 11:43 pm

Postby cessen » Wed Apr 09, 2003 12:32 am

Money_YaY! wrote:just a simple button in the material area would do the trick.


Right... that's a bit like saying that all you need to make a car move is an accellerator pedal: you're forgetting about the engine! :)

Anyway, Blender's renderer really isn't well suited to displacement mapping. In fact, most of the "other programs" that you are talking about aren't well suited to it either--but they hacked it in anyway, and the result is a half-baked feature that doesn't really work well.

Displacement mapping is a feature that is really only well-suited to REYES based rendering, or to raytracing with suitable algorithms and optimisation--REYES rendering is the best solution. Raster-based renderers, such as Blender's, are the worst kind of renderer for displacement mapping.

As I have said before, you can use displacement mapping via external renderers that *are* well suited to displacement mapping (in other words, you should bug Green to hurry up. ;) ).

Pablosbrain
Posts: 356
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 7:39 pm

Postby Pablosbrain » Wed Apr 09, 2003 3:32 am

Polls for "if you want this" features are sorta dumb anyways... Any feature that enhances blender I'm gonna vote yes on. As for adding every script into blender... thats not completely necessary.. maybe just a way to add them to the menu so you can use them as if they are part of the program... that would be great!

Money_YaY!
Posts: 876
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 2:47 pm

Postby Money_YaY! » Thu Apr 10, 2003 5:12 am

Heh. Yeah well thats all good and all. But I can't hardly do squat.

I'm an OSX user and half if any Scripts work yet.
So I can't get to Export anything to rib files or what not.

I should start a Poll for just A compleate OSX fix up. But that
would be to pompus.

^v^

cekuhnen
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 11:04 pm

...

Postby cekuhnen » Mon Apr 14, 2003 5:46 pm

you have thois feature allready inside blender...

when you use 3deligth than you can use a displacement shader.
this will give you a resolution where a polygon is smaller than a pixel.
which means awesome fine displacements.

i would not vote for a solution inside blender since in all other packages i never saw a comparable renderresult.

--ce

cessen
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2002 11:43 pm

Postby cessen » Fri May 09, 2003 7:07 pm

cekuhnen wrote:when you use 3deligth than you can use a displacement shader. this will give you a resolution where a polygon is smaller than a pixel. which means awesome fine displacements.


Yup. That's Reyes-based rendering. :-)
I'm hoping that the Blender 3.0 renderer will be Reyes-based, because that would improve Blender's rendering capabilities emensely (not to mention that it would allow for rendering much, *much* more complicated scenes).

LukeW
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:14 pm

Postby LukeW » Sat May 17, 2003 5:52 am

http://www.linuxgraphic.org/section3d/b ... x-ang.html
Here's a tutorial about a displacement mapping script for Blender versions 1.8 through 2.04. It involves new polygons being created though, so it would create a high polygon count.

http://www.dm7.net/index.php?page=tutor ... tmaps.html
This talks about height-maps in Blender.


Return to “Interface & Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 0 guests