Previous Thread  Next Thread

chat icon Blender GUI API

Zaphod

Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2003 3:59 am
Hi guys! I've started using blender a couple of weeks ago... It rocks!!!!
As a C/C++ student I would like to ask you how can I make my apps using blender's gui Elements like those awsome buttons, etc...? What files, libs do I need to get?

Cheers

Miguel Figueiredo

Pjotr

Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2003 7:19 am
http://www.blender.org/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=33&mode=thread&order=0&thold=0

This was in the news some time ago maybe it will help

Zaphod

Posted: Thu Apr 17, 2003 12:18 am
Yes, I've made the tutorial and it is a very interesting API but it does not build GUI elements; like buttons it just manages windows and events...
Browsing trough the ghost source code I didn't find anything concerning GUI programming in the way I asked....

Cheers

Miguel Figueiredo

voidptr

Posted: Thu Apr 17, 2003 12:51 am
No your right. GHOST does not have any GUI elements. We have talked about this in the GHOST mailing list but have not come to an agreement. If I remember correctly the last outcome was that we would all go back and think about it more.

The BMF_font system was rolled into GHOST & the I18N looks like it maybe as well. There was some basic work done on a menu system but I don't think that this made it into the current version.

Plus I'm not sure that if GHOST started adding a GUI layer that it would end up like Blender. Personally there are a couple of things I would not add & a few that I would improve, but that's my personal opinion not the GHOST teams.

You can also add in the fact that Blenders GUI system is quite 'C' & GHOST is 'C++' with a 'C' wrapper for backwards compatibility.

Of course nothings stopping you from coming into the GHOST maillist & talking about it some more. Smile

voidptr

Zaphod

Posted: Thu Apr 17, 2003 1:38 am
Ok, now we know that GHOST does not implement gui elements and that possibility is in discussion... right? Wink