Anit-wish list

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

ghosthand

Anit-wish list

Postby ghosthand » Wed Apr 23, 2003 6:48 pm

Everyone has their wish list, well this is my anti-wish list:

1. I don't want blender to be a [Enter other 3D application here] clone:
If I want all the features that Maya or SoftImage has then I would buy those respective applications. There is no creativity or innovation in cloning.

There's one thought that I truly despise: "If you want professionals in the industry to take Blender seriously" or "In order for the industry to fully adopt Blender as a professional tool then [Enter any feature here] must be implemented. "

Realistically, Blender probably will not dominate the CG industry, ever. But that's okay with me, because I'm a hobbyist.

2. I don't want any major new tools yet.
New tools create new bugs. The volunteers are doing a great job trying to clean up the source and fixing some annoying problems. It's probably better to concentrate on that then additional problems created by additional features.

3. I don't want a built-in raytracer.
Why waste time creating a built-in raytracer when there are many other applications out there that do raytracing? Working export plug-ins are just as fine. Better would be the ability to render directly into Yafray or Aqsis from within Blender.

There are a few other things that I don't want in blender but I can't think of any more right now.

I really don't have my own wish list for Blender. I'm just interested in hearing what other people don't want in Blender

z3r0_d

Postby z3r0_d » Fri Apr 25, 2003 5:26 am

persistent windows
I like the current interface with one fullscreen window that can be split up, but you don't have to worry when things overlap. When something is put on top it is temporary, something you requested, and easy to get away from (maybe too easy sometimes).

DirectX support instead of opengl.