Graphics card compatibility - post your specs here!

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

ryanrpv77
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 8:47 am

System Specs with some problems

Postby ryanrpv77 » Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:28 am

* Windows 7 64-bit Build 7600 with SP1
* Intel I5-650 with 4GB RAM
* MSI ATI Radeon R5670 1GB DDR5
* Catalyst control Centre with OpenCL x64 11.7**

* OpenSuse 11.4
* ATI driver version 11.5

**
V2.49b
Previously installed 10.* CCC with Version 2.49b - No problems.
During Normal windows operations my screen will just go blank, white or white with lines and just lock up the system. Have to hit reset to restart.
At this stage I thought it was faulty hardware or a driver problem.

V2.58.1
Driver versions 11.4, 11.5. Previous mentioned Lockup starts occurring while using blender now. (white screen, black screen, screen with lines)
Tried different draw methods but this happened with every draw method.
This does not happen on most other systems so I thought again it is a driver problem or hardware problem. On AMD/ATI 's website, the driver release notes specify numerous bug fixes regarding sudden blank screen, flickering, screen corruption. I installed 11.7 3/8/2011. No Blank screen or lockup yet ...

None of these problems happened while using 2.57 in Opensuse.

Railgun131
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 9:08 pm

Postby Railgun131 » Sun Aug 28, 2011 9:53 pm

OS: Windows 7 Premium

GC: Nvidia Quadro 1000M 2GB

Driver: not sure

Blender: Perfect with 2.59

I'm dying for Anti-Alias Normal map baking.

PS: CPU doesn't matter?

Printpac
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 11:56 am

Postby Printpac » Mon Oct 03, 2011 12:04 pm

Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition
System: Advent 7004 Laptop
Graphics card: ATI Mobility M6 with 16MB DDR
Processor: Pentium 4 1.8gHz
Functionality: Everything works fine

Ahmad1
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 4:14 pm

Postby Ahmad1 » Tue Oct 11, 2011 4:17 pm

Operating system: Windows XP Professional
Graphics card: Intel 82845G/GL
Driver/OpenGL version: 6.13.1.3095
Functionality: Blender runs well, some graphics glitches in shade mode, program crashes when selecting objects when you have many objects on screen, especially when selecting empties.
Reply with quote

infinitekills
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 2:51 am
Location: Miami

Postby infinitekills » Sat Nov 19, 2011 2:58 am

* Windows 7 64-bit Professional SP1
* AMD Phenom 2 1100-T X6 3.3ghz
* XFX Radeon HD 5870 1GB ram
* PNY 16GB ram
* Asus M148t-E motherboard

V2.60a
Catalyst control center 11.11

I have not any problems with blender 2.5 or 2.6. Everything is running crisp. I have not had any crashes.... No problems at all.... I love blender....

So far so good, if there are any problems I will update
One with a free mind can perform and create things whether they be good or evil.

Ludovic_L
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 9:18 am
Location: Mauritius

System

Postby Ludovic_L » Wed Nov 30, 2011 9:31 am

Operating system: Windows XP SP3
Graphic Card: Geforce 8600 GT 256 of Ram

All blender version I have used worked well. I've downloaded the last driver for my graphic card. Its CUDA enable. Opencl 1.0.

I can't use my graphic card with cycle with the last release candidate.

Exoow
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:53 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby Exoow » Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:04 pm

Windows 7 - 64 bit
6 GB Ram
Intel Core i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30 Ghz
AMD Radeon HD 6490M (1 GB GDDR5)

Blender is sloooooow! I've just done a default install.
All the menus and buttons are responding after one, two seconds only.

Do I need to adjust settings (graphics card or other) somewhere?

Exoow
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:53 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby Exoow » Tue Dec 06, 2011 10:06 pm

Exoow wrote:Blender is sloooooow!

Problem fixed, the culprit was the HP notebook "Switchable graphics" feature.

Sasbian
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 2:20 am
Location: Maryville, Tennessee U.S.A.

Postby Sasbian » Tue Dec 13, 2011 2:50 am

*Windows 7 64but ultimate sp1
*nVidia 250gts , nVidia 250gts sli (1024gb ram total)
*285.62 Driver (Release Date: 2011.10.24)

Note: everything works good except cycles cuda and opencl which requires version 1.3(cuda) and 1.1(opencl) and saying my card has only 1.1(cuda) and 1.0(opencl). Which it shouldn't becouse the drivers support shader maps to 2.0 (I believe).

Sasbian
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 2:20 am
Location: Maryville, Tennessee U.S.A.

Postby Sasbian » Tue Dec 13, 2011 2:51 am

Sasbian wrote:*Windows 7 64bit ultimate sp1
*nVidia 250gts , nVidia 250gts sli (1024gb ram total)
*285.62 Driver (Release Date: 2011.10.24)

Note: everything works good except cycles cuda and opencl which requires version 1.3(cuda) and 1.1(opencl) and saying my card has only 1.1(cuda) and 1.0(opencl). Which it shouldn't becouse the drivers support shader maps to 2.0 (I believe).


sorry, had to change 'but' to 'bit' :D

Sasbian
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 2:20 am
Location: Maryville, Tennessee U.S.A.

Postby Sasbian » Fri Dec 30, 2011 4:17 pm

Sasbian wrote:*Windows 7 64but ultimate sp1
*nVidia 250gts , nVidia 250gts sli (1024gb ram total)
*285.62 Driver (Release Date: 2011.10.24)

Note: everything works good except cycles cuda and opencl which requires version 1.3(cuda) and 1.1(opencl) and saying my card has only 1.1(cuda) and 1.0(opencl). Which it shouldn't becouse the drivers support shader maps to 2.0 (I believe).




Update to this.....

Apperently it was the card it's self. It wouldn't run 1.3(cuda) or opencl 1.1. Actually, Come to find out, It wasn't even able to run directx 11. So It was time to update. The updated card is.

nvidia GTS450.

Now it runs everything great (even cuda which speeds up render time considerably)

Patrick Latour
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:03 am
Location: Montreal

Postby Patrick Latour » Sat Dec 31, 2011 8:29 pm

I have a HP, quad core, 4GB of RAM. Was using a GeForce 9500GS, 512MB of memory, no problem at all (Windows7 and Linux Mint12). Now I am using GeForce GTX 560 1GB of memory. Everything is running smoothly on both OS. With the GPU enabled, my rendering times a divided by 6.

PhillBlender
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 12:04 pm

My machine

Postby PhillBlender » Wed Mar 14, 2012 12:17 pm

Operating system Ubuntu 11.10
Graphics card ATI Radeon HD 5450
CPU AMD Athlon(tm) Dual Core Processor 4850B × 2
Blender 2.62.1

Blender fails with default Ubuntu graphics drivers (just drops out). Seems to work fine with proprietary drivers (not post release update version).

dersch100
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 12:13 pm

Postby dersch100 » Tue May 15, 2012 12:21 pm

operating system: Intel® Core™ i5-2500 CPU @ 3.30GHz × 4 64bit dual boot with Win 7
graphics card: GeForce GTX 560 Ti/PCIe/SSE2
problem: Blender cycles renders twice as fast under windows

patlecat
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 3:50 pm
Location: Zuerich

render machine

Postby patlecat » Thu May 24, 2012 4:09 pm

Operating system: Windows7 32bit
Graphics card: AMD 6970 with 2GB RAM, OpenCL 1.2
Driver/OpenGL version: AMD Catalyst 12.4a
Functionality: Blender, Blender-Render and CPU-Cycles work perfectly (2.62, 2.63, 2.63a) / GPU-Cycles either crashes or fails to compile the shaders and does not render!


Return to “News & Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest