Previous Thread  Next Thread

chat icon APT-able debian packages

jochym

Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2002 2:23 pm
Joined: 15 Oct 2002
Posts: 14
Hi,

Based on the excelent work of phaethon I've created
apt-able debian packages for woody and sid distributions.
Just add:
deb http://rozeta.com.pl/blender/debian/ woody/
or
deb http://rozeta.com.pl/blender/debian/ sid/
to your /etc/apt/sources.list
then:
apt-get update ; apt-get install blender-creator-ph
and you have blender installed.
The binary name is blendercreator-ph

Have fun! Smile
Reply with quote


AlanGordie

Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2002 4:18 pm
Joined: 18 Oct 2002
Posts: 2
jochym wrote:
Hi,

Based on the excelent work of phaethon I've created
apt-able debian packages for woody and sid distributions.


Incredible! The binary works great! Thanks a lot guys! Very Happy

Do you guys happen to know if/when Phaethon's autoconf contribs will will make it into CVS?
Reply with quote


Hos

Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2002 10:07 pm
Joined: 15 Oct 2002
Posts: 215
jochym wrote:
Based on the excelent work of phaethon I've created
apt-able debian packages for woody and sid distributions.


Hi,

I haven't tried your packages yet, but I think this is a great idea!

Have you checked out the mplayer CVS source? One thing that
is very cool about it is that it has a debian directory so after you
check out the sources you can "fakeroot debian/rules binary"
and it will configure and build a debian package for you directly
from the fresh CVS sources.

I would very much like to see something like that for the blender
CVS tree.

Regards,
Chris
Reply with quote


jochym

Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2002 11:52 pm
Joined: 15 Oct 2002
Posts: 14
Hos wrote:



Have you checked out the mplayer CVS source? One thing that
is very cool about it is that it has a debian directory so after you
check out the sources you can "fakeroot debian/rules binary"
and it will configure and build a debian package for you directly
from the fresh CVS sources.

I would very much like to see something like that for the blender
CVS tree.


I'll try to submit appropriate patches of this type as soon as regular
development starts.

P.
Reply with quote


Unreality

Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2002 3:44 pm
Joined: 17 Oct 2002
Posts: 4
I just get error message: E: Malformed line 5 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list (dist) Crying or Very sad
Reply with quote


Hos

Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2002 4:03 pm
Joined: 15 Oct 2002
Posts: 215
Unreality wrote:
I just get error message: E: Malformed line 5 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list (dist) Crying or Very sad


... and what does line 5 of your /etc/apt/sources.list look like?

Chris
Reply with quote


Unreality

Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2002 5:39 pm
Joined: 17 Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Hos wrote:

... and what does line 5 of your /etc/apt/sources.list look like?


deb http://rozeta.com.pl/blender/debian/ woody/
Reply with quote


jochym

Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2002 6:19 pm
Joined: 15 Oct 2002
Posts: 14
Unreality wrote:
Hos wrote:

... and what does line 5 of your /etc/apt/sources.list look like?


deb http://rozeta.com.pl/blender/debian/ woody/


Check it carefully. It should work like this
It works on both my woody and sid systems.

P.
Reply with quote


xitnalta

Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2002 6:56 pm
Joined: 15 Oct 2002
Posts: 68
Unreality: Two possible reasons come to my mind:

1. Do you really have Debian "woody" (3.0, aka "stable")? The testing dist is called "sarge" (I think), so you have to look which one of "woody" or "sid" works better, and the unstable dist is "sid". If you still have potato (Debian 2.2), you probably shouldn't use Blender yet. Wink
2. If this is the last line in the file - does it end with a newline ('\n') or just with the end of file? Certain tools are (still) a bit picky about the last line not ending with a newline.
_________________
Felix
Reply with quote


Hos

Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2002 2:16 am
Joined: 15 Oct 2002
Posts: 215
Unreality wrote:
Hos wrote:

... and what does line 5 of your /etc/apt/sources.list look like?


deb http://rozeta.com.pl/blender/debian/ woody/


I just copy and pasted your line into my sources.list and
it work just fine. Maybe try posting the rest of the file?

Chris
Reply with quote


Unreality

Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2002 1:37 pm
Joined: 17 Oct 2002
Posts: 4
I tried sid and it worked! Very Happy
Reply with quote


heffel

Posted: Tue Oct 22, 2002 3:15 pm
Joined: 22 Oct 2002
Posts: 5
I got the Sid version as well, it installed without any problems.

I was pleasantly surprised when I ran the executable and saw that I could resize the blender main window (I was never able to resize the window of the "standard" blender in Sid, it was always maximized).

I noticed the 7, 1 and 3 keys on the number pad were not working.

Kind of bummed I went back to the "standard", always maximized Blender, since I cannot do much if I can't change the view.

Heffel
Reply with quote


Hos

Posted: Tue Oct 22, 2002 7:07 pm
Joined: 15 Oct 2002
Posts: 215
heffel wrote:
I was pleasantly surprised when I ran the executable and saw that I could resize the blender main window (I was never able to resize the window of the "standard" blender in Sid, it was always maximized).


This is actually really bad, because the NaN developers forgot to register WM_CLASS
for the application so you are stuck with a non-maximized window for all UNIX versions.
If you want to override this you need a window manager like sawfish that'll allow you
to set attributes for windows with no WM_CLASS. (windowmaker, which is what
I use, doesn't do that.)

You can resize old standard blender too -- for example, launch it with:

blender -w -p 5 5 800 600

Type "blender -h" for more tricks.

Chris
Reply with quote


heffel

Posted: Tue Oct 22, 2002 11:53 pm
Joined: 22 Oct 2002
Posts: 5
You can resize old standard blender too -- for example, launch it with:

blender -w -p 5 5 800 600

Type "blender -h" for more tricks.

Chris[/quote]

Cool!

Thanks for the tip.

Heffel
Reply with quote


zola

Posted: Tue Oct 22, 2002 11:56 pm
Joined: 14 Oct 2002
Posts: 2
I use Enlightenment and run Blender full-screen on one desktop which I can switch to and from with a hot-key. Enlightenment remembers window settings for applications if you want it to so you don't even need any special command-line options.
Reply with quote


Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group