Win32 Build Problems with tuhopuu

Compiling, libraries, modules, coding guidelines and porting

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

AndyDavis
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 6:31 pm

Win32 Build Problems with tuhopuu

Postby AndyDavis » Mon May 26, 2003 7:59 am

I have two machines, one can build the tuhopuu branch just fine using the free tools build instructions, the other can't. They seem to have the same make and python, and I have refreshed the source until I'm ready to puke.

Here's the error that I get very early on (when freezing the python stuff):

make[1]: Entering directory `/home/adavis/FunBlender/intern/python/freeze'
python -S -O freeze.py -d -x os -x pprint -x string -x copy -I ../modules -o /ho
me/adavis/FunBlender/obj//windows/blender/bpython/frozen ../modules/VRMLmain.py
parsesetup.py:3: DeprecationWarning: the regex module is deprecated; please use
the re module
import regex
load_module 'exceptions' None None
load_module -> Module('exceptions')
run_script '../modules/VRMLmain.py'
load_module '__main__' 'fp' '../modules/VRMLmain.py'
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "freeze.py", line 461, in ?
main()
File "freeze.py", line 341, in main
mf.run_script(scriptfile)
File "modulefinder.py", line 98, in run_script
self.load_module('__main__', fp, pathname, stuff)
File "modulefinder.py", line 252, in load_module
co = compile(fp.read()+'\n', pathname, 'exec')
File "<string>", line 2

^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
make[1]: *** [importer] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/adavis/FunBlender/intern/python/freeze'
make: *** [frozen] Error 2
make: Leaving directory `/home/adavis/FunBlender'

As I said, my other machine works fine. Obviously, I have left something out of the config, but I have no idea what. Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

-Andy

Hos
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:06 am

Postby Hos » Tue May 27, 2003 2:11 am

2 possible leads:

1) check what python you are using on
both machines by typing:

Code: Select all

which python


2) check your python path:

Code: Select all

echo $PYTHONPATH


If the 2 machines are different, maybe try to
turn the PYTHONPATH off:

Code: Select all

unset PYTHONPATH


Chris

AndyDavis
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 6:31 pm

Postby AndyDavis » Tue May 27, 2003 8:29 am

No, those were good.

I've diffed the environments, uninstalled/reinstalled cygwin, bunch of other similarly desperate measures.

The only real difference between the two machines is that the troublesome machine has Studio 6.0 & Studio .Net on it.

I have no idea what is causing this.

I'm going to go find a wall to bash my head into.

Arrgh,
-Andy

Hos
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:06 am

Postby Hos » Tue May 27, 2003 12:34 pm

OK, that's about all I can think of...

The last time I saw somebody with exactly this
error message they had a PYTHONPATH that looked
like this:

PYTHONPATH=C:\PYTHON21;C:\PYTHON21\DLLs;C:\PYTHON21\LIB

Typing "unset PYTHONPATH" before typing make
made it work (The python that comes with cygwin
is 2.2 not 2.1).

Chris

AndyDavis
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 6:31 pm

Postby AndyDavis » Wed May 28, 2003 4:12 am

Thanks for the help, sadly it still isn't working. I'm going to add some tracing into the script so I can see what might be causing the issue. IF I figure anything out before I go insane, I'll post back.

-Andy

AndyDavis
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 6:31 pm

Postby AndyDavis » Thu May 29, 2003 9:14 am

I added a print statement so that I could see what it was trying to compile on that line, and bang! the thing starts working. I have no idea why the problem was there, and how my addition of a print statement fixed it.

It's building now.

-Andy


Return to “Coding Blender”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest