blender's maya interface preset any probs on a laptop?

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

AidyFuzz
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 12:42 pm

blender's maya interface preset any probs on a laptop?

Postby AidyFuzz » Sun Jul 18, 2010 1:22 pm

Hi all,

Does anyone have any advice regarding the following issue...

I'm a maya user during my work hours but i'm amazed with the full capabilities of blender's power and i'm really liking this new layout and want to get stuck in.

Naturally i'm drawn to this new maya interface option of the recent builds. I've had it working on other computers, but doesn't seem to work on my laptop. I get a traceback error appear and it just loads the default blender controls instead.

I wonder could this be due to the laptop not having some of the keys that the script might be trying to map to? And if not, any other ideas?

Thanks in advance for any response/ideas! :D

Aidy

Nikprodanov
Posts: 352
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 8:54 pm

Postby Nikprodanov » Sun Jul 18, 2010 4:45 pm

Can you post a screenshot of the error?

AidyFuzz
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 12:42 pm

Postby AidyFuzz » Mon Jul 19, 2010 9:53 am

Hello,

Thanks for the reply, has anyone else tested this setting on a laptop that doesn't have a full keyboard built in?

I sent a response to this back yesterday but somehow it doesn't seem to be here at the mo'.

In short, I can't figure out how to add a picture in this window but having said that there isn't really much to look at. I'll put everything here which should be just as good....



When selecting the maya preset option on the splash screen when one of the test builds first loads up I get a warning triangle appear at the top right of the screen.

I can't read everything it says there but it does expand a little if i try to run the maya interface python script manually, it says....



Traceback (most recent call last)

File "C:\Users\me\Documents\untitled.blend/maya.py", line 250, in <module>

AttributeError: 'OperatorProperties' object has no attribute 'unselected'

location <unknown location> :-1

python script fail, look in the console for now....





That's it, hope that helps a bit more?

Thanks again for replying, :)
Aidy.

Nikprodanov
Posts: 352
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 8:54 pm

Postby Nikprodanov » Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:35 pm

These are lines 247-250 of the Maya preset script:

Code: Select all

kmi = km.items.add('object.hide_clear', 'H', 'PRESS', alt=True)
kmi = km.items.add('object.hide_set', 'H', 'PRESS')
kmi = km.items.add('object.hide_set', 'H', 'PRESS', shift=True)
kmi.properties.unselected = True


It sets up Shift+H for the "restrict view" operator. Apparently the operator "object.hide_set" doesn't have an "Unselected" parameter. This is because the keymap script is old, and the "object.hide_set" operator has been renamed to "object.hide_view_set" since then. I get the same error here too, and to fix it you need to open up maya.py, find those four lines (247-250) and rename them like so:

Code: Select all

kmi = km.items.add('object.hide_view_clear', 'H', 'PRESS', alt=True)
kmi = km.items.add('object.hide_view_set', 'H', 'PRESS')
kmi = km.items.add('object.hide_view_set', 'H', 'PRESS', shift=True)
kmi.properties.unselected = True


I figure this is going to be corrected later on, but you'll have to fix it yourself until then.

AidyFuzz
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 12:42 pm

Postby AidyFuzz » Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:52 pm

I'll try it shortly but i just wanted to say thanks so much for your answer!
You've been a massive help! I can't get enough of blender at the moment.

Onwards and upwards! :)

AidyFuzz
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 12:42 pm

Postby AidyFuzz » Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:32 pm

Hello,

Just to let you know, i've tried the above on the laptop at home and all is well!

Thanks so much for your help! Time to get cracking!

:D

Nikprodanov
Posts: 352
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 8:54 pm

Postby Nikprodanov » Tue Jul 20, 2010 8:12 pm

You're welcome :) This has already been fixed in the latest builds! Feel free to check those out.


Return to “Interface & Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests