Rendering all edges

Blender's renderer and external renderer export

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2002 2:39 pm

Rendering all edges

Postby aughey » Wed Jul 30, 2003 10:10 pm

Below is a sample rendering of the inside of a wall. The edges show up with the Edge button selected and Eint set to 1.


I intend to use this to illustrate stud layout for framing up walls and roofs. The problem is, not all edges are shown. In particular, the joints between studs to not show up such as between the vertical and horizontal studs, and where two studs are joined together such as for the jack stud around the window and door.

Is there a way to see all of the edges? What I want is a combination of hidden line removal wireframe, and solid rendering. Perhaps something could be written in a plug-in to merge two images according to the z buffer. Changing Eint does not help.

I am using the latest Blender 2.28.

Thank you

Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2002 2:39 pm

Postby aughey » Thu Jul 31, 2003 12:47 am

I've made a little progress by duplicating the figure in place, and creating a different wireframe material for the new object. This renders ok, but the lines are too narrow.

So I guess the next question is, can the width of wireframe lines be changed?

Thank you

Posts: 1522
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 2:38 am

Postby z3r0_d » Thu Jul 31, 2003 7:11 am


but if you render to a lower resolution and combine with your larger image you may be able to achieve a similar effect....

Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 1:12 am

Postby beatabix » Thu Jul 31, 2003 10:54 am

render black wireframe with white background (shadeless everything)
take into PS or Gimp.
gaussian blur (eg-> 2px)
use threshold and adjust until line is thick and solid, not blurred.
composite layer with multiply blending.

total hack, but you don't have many other options.


Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 10:34 am

Postby flippyneck » Fri Aug 01, 2003 5:11 pm

I'm writing a script that will hopefully do everything you need completely within Blender.
Take a look here (
The tests i posted are not really examples of the effect you want, but they will be included with time. It will be a while before this is complete though.

Posts: 941
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:37 pm
Location: University of Minnesota (USA)

Postby SirDude » Fri Aug 01, 2003 5:39 pm

There is actually a sequence plugin that will merge images
with zbuffer data.

Its zcompose, you can grab it here: ... index.html

If you think it needs extra stuff let me know and I'll
work on improving it ;)

Return to “Rendering”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests