Previous Thread  Next Thread

chat icon Someone stealing and selling Blender for profit?

Datawraith

Posted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 7:48 am
Joined: 04 Nov 2010
Posts: 86
Look here:

3dmagixpro.com

in the screenshots, they're showing Blender and they'ye selling the program for $27 and eventually for over $100. I recommend looking into this ASAP.
Reply with quote


kat

Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 8:43 pm
Joined: 18 Oct 2002
Posts: 16
Datawraith wrote:
Look here:

3dmagixpro.com

in the screenshots, they're showing Blender and they'ye selling the program for $27 and eventually for over $100. I recommend looking into this ASAP.
I've been tracking this for a while here. The general consensus is that he can do it because of an *interpretive loophole* in GPL'd software. Rolling Eyes
_________________
http://www.katsbits.com
Reply with quote


guniap

Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 8:30 pm
Joined: 08 Feb 2011
Posts: 1
look here
http://www.illusionmage.com/

This page looks almost similar to the 3dmagixpro.com, seems that they are selling Blender under various names. I can't believe they can eventually get away with that.
Reply with quote


stiv

Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:03 pm
Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 3491
Speak of the devil!

3DMagix and IllusionMage: scam or open source leeches?

http://www.blender.org/blenderorg/blender-foundation/press/re-branding-blender/
Reply with quote


SebastianMWS

Posted: Sun Mar 13, 2011 9:37 pm
Joined: 13 Mar 2011
Posts: 1
stiv wrote:
Speak of the devil!

3DMagix and IllusionMage: scam or open source leeches?

http://www.blender.org/blenderorg/blender-foundation/press/re-branding-blender/


...and his cousins !

Good evening everyone,

I would have never thought that my first post on Blender forums would be a scam report. The lure of selling Blender for profit seems to be getting momentum. They're not even trying to disguise the origin with their own "brand" - now they're selling it openly (and shamelessly) on eBay UK...as a "BLENDER 3D For Mac Professional 3D Content Creation Suite" !!!

Here's the link ...

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Professional-3D-CONTENT-CREATION-SUITE-Software-Mac-/380321130099?pt=UK_Computing_Software_Software_SR&hash=item588ce7e673

Once again - it's the last thing I ever wanted, to enter this community with a fraud report, but I just couldn't look the other way. I'll make sure my next post is actually Blender related...promise !

To whom it may concern...

Sebastian
Reply with quote


 
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group