Documentation Format? (SGML,HTML,TXT;-), ...)

Blender documentation projects, tutorials, translation, learning & teaching Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

SGML

XML
22%
HTML
33%
TXT (I know that has no chance! ;-D)
2%
DocBook
44%

Total votes: 55

droddl

Documentation Format? (SGML,HTML,TXT;-), ...)

Postby droddl » Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:02 am

Heyho...

I just wanted to start this Poll to get feedback on which Format the BlenderDoc should be edited!

Because I'm not very good at any of these Formats (except TXT perhaps :D ), I'll have to learn!

Maybe we can also get a decision!

We will see ...

Bye

IngieBee

Postby IngieBee » Mon Oct 21, 2002 5:50 pm

I'm not sure what DocBook is like, but I voted for it because out of the choices, it sounds like it's something that can be downloaded.

So my responce is, it would be great if it were downloadable and viewable on my local computer. That's what I'd like.

Love Ingie

xitnalta

Postby xitnalta » Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:26 pm

I'd like to give you a rough overview of the formats:

XML

XML is a formatting concept that works at the same level as a text file - it needs an application to be interpreted and you're absolutely free to put into it what you want. XML is roughly like HTML, only that you have to define all the tags yourself. It is used for textual documents (XHTML, DocBook XML), image formats (the vector-based SVG), native file formats, configuration files, remote procedure calls (XML-RPC and SOAP), ... . All these things are called applications of XML You can do almost everything with XML that involves storing or exchanging data. (Sorry, I'm a bit lazy to look up all the respective links of that stuff. You find the XML standards and many applications of it on http://www.w3.org/ .)

If we were really choosing XML, we would have to come up with a suitable application for documentation - which already exists, so we can save a lot of work by using that (see below).

HTML