Background Image not loading in V2.5...

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Hookswag
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:24 am

Background Image not loading in V2.5...

Postby Hookswag » Sun Sep 11, 2011 8:55 pm

I am currently attempting to load a background image as a reference in blender, however when I load an image for the background, it does not show up at all... I'm a new user and hopefully there's a simple fix.. What am I doing wrong? I'm adding the background image the very same way the tutorials display however with no result..[/code]
_-j=hookswag=j-_

clifford
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:06 am

I have the same issue

Postby clifford » Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:09 am

I am attempting to create a new session with a new background image and I go through all the steps and the background image will not show.

Thanks.
Clifford Davis

stiv
Posts: 3646
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Postby stiv » Sat Sep 24, 2011 6:26 am

The traditional problem with background images is not being in Ortho view.

clifford
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:06 am

Postby clifford » Sat Sep 24, 2011 6:38 am

OK, I will make sure where it is...

Thanks
Clif

Selex3D
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 3:08 pm

Postby Selex3D » Sun Sep 25, 2011 12:47 am

Hello,

I agree with Stiv, you need to be in Ortho view in order to see the background image. The steps to follow are as below.

1) go to View > Properties
2) A panel will then appear on the right of the screen (about 3/4 of the way to the right of the page)
3) Where it says Background Images. make sure you check the box (a tick will appear)
4) Now click "Add Image" button
5) Where it says "Not Set" there is a arrow to the left of that, click on that arrow.
6) Now a button that says "Open" will appear, click on that.
7) Now select the image you want to add from your PC
8) Finally you want to go to Ortho view, to do this click on View > View Persp/Ortho.

You should now be able to see your image

clifford
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:06 am

Postby clifford » Sun Sep 25, 2011 1:14 am

Thank you all for the information. I will make another run at it.

Clif

solerous
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 2:55 pm

Postby solerous » Tue Nov 15, 2011 3:05 pm

Even though I'm using 2.6, I figured I'd reply to this thread rather than creating a new one. I am having the exact same problem with my background image. It's a png though I've tried jpgs as well (all are widescreen, rectangular format and faily large images).

I followed the steps in Selex3D's post exactly, but nothing shows, even in ortho view.

Tehrasha
Posts: 1264
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 6:21 am
Location: Iowa

Postby Tehrasha » Tue Nov 15, 2011 5:31 pm

In addition to Selex3D's steps, you will need to set your view to one of the 6 axis views (Top/Bottom/Left/Right/Front/Back) or your camera view depending on which Axis: is selected in Background Image menu. The default is ALL.

solerous
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 2:55 pm

Postby solerous » Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:18 pm

thanks, that worked!

JoWa2211
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 7:08 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Postby JoWa2211 » Thu Mar 14, 2013 7:12 am

If you are using Hotkeys, make sure the MousePointer is in the right window. This problem took me some time.


Return to “Interface & Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 0 guests