Blender in Webgl

Blender documentation projects, tutorials, translation, learning & teaching Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Blender in Webgl

Postby Jena » Fri Nov 11, 2011 7:04 pm

I'm trying to export Blender models to Javascript.
With the aim to develop a simple webgl game.
Although, I'm new in Blender and have no idea how to export Blender models to Javascript. Any ideas?

Kind regards

Re: Blender in Webgl

Postby tmpest » Fri Jan 13, 2012 8:23 pm

Jena wrote:Although, I'm new in Blender and have no idea how to export Blender models to Javascript. Any ideas?

Hello, Jena!

WebGL requires a "loader" to perform the loading of a model. There is no "JavaScript" format for 3D models, per se. WebGL, like the full OpenGL are basic frameworks and do not provide a "native" format for the 3D models they display. In fact, you will find yourself writing the actual code to turn each polygon into a GL instance to display it! You will also be writing libraries to do transformations on them to turn, twist, animate... blah, blah. Lots of work on your part!

Basically, in a Graphics Library environment nothing is built for you. You will need to look for things called "loaders" to interpret the 3D models into the GL language for you.

Luckily, you have many loaders in the open source domain but I would look for OBJ (also called wavefront) and COLLADA (which is owned by the WebGL defining body, but I may be mistaken).

In short, in WebGL you will either need to find an "engine" with a pre-built loader or you will have to build it yourself.

Once you have that hurdle over, its super simple to export from Blender what you need. Blender supports many, many formats.

Postby zidarsk8 » Sat Feb 04, 2012 2:59 am

I have had a project like that a while back and these are the things I have learned (it may be a bit outdated now)