i can't found any menu and the button one the toolbar

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

stiv
Posts: 3646
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Postby stiv » Sun Dec 18, 2011 7:26 am

The best I can tell from your 20-some posts is this:

* You are building Blender from source

* You are using your own home-made Visual Studio project and not one of the supported build systems.

* After you are done, it does not work because Blender cannot find it's Python files.

Is that a good summary? (apologies if this is not correct. you have so many threads going, it is hard to keep track)

For your first time around the track, I would recommend using one of the supported build systems - either cmake or SCons. Both of these produce an install directory that contains the files you need to run Blender.

I personally recommend scons, because it tends to run right out of the box. But you will need to install Python 2.6 or similar (you have already done this, if I recall correctly)

Here is a link to building Blender:
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:D ... ng_Blender

stiv
Posts: 3646
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Postby stiv » Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:48 pm

If you are using cmake, do not forget the 'make install' step that copies the necessary python files to the install dir.

yaxinhoo
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:41 pm

Postby yaxinhoo » Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:51 pm

sorry for that post , not the next time .
1、all right except one , i had use cmake build system on windows , can look up python line .
2、then i switch to osx lion , use cmake to crate xcoeproj , it can't build.
3、then i switch to osx lion , use cmake to crate UNIX make , i got the error.
[100%] Building C object source/creator/CMakeFiles/blender.dir/buildinfo.c.o
Linking CXX executable ../../bin/blender.app/Contents/MacOS/blender
ld: in /Volumes/BackUp/Tools/blender/lib/darwin-9.x.universal/png/lib/libpng.a, file too small for architecture i386
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [bin/blender.app/Contents/MacOS/blender] Error 1
make[1]: *** [source/creator/CMakeFiles/blender.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2
4、i havn't use scons. i will try it later.

stiv
Posts: 3646
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Postby stiv » Tue Dec 20, 2011 6:13 pm

I forgot to mention that if you have access to IRC, you can get real-time help on the #blendercoders channel on freenode.net . Depending on the time of day, you might also find people who know about OSX and cmake.


Return to “Testing Builds”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests