blender needs to improve on this...

An open space where people who use Blender in an academic environment can share progress and the typical problems and needs of academic environments.

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

dragonzofwar
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:48 am
Location: United States

blender needs to improve on this...

Postby dragonzofwar » Thu Jan 12, 2012 3:03 am

when using blender on a mac many users have encountered a problem... unfortunately you can't open two .blend files at a time this is really bothersome and creates many problems like for instance i was working on a model in three separate files and could not put them together. I had a headless handless body, a hand, and a head file i was trying to open the other files and i couldn't because each time i tried to open them it would only open one at a time even when i had three files selected i searched this up on the internet and people encountering this problem said it was impossible to open 2 blender files on a mac this really needs to be fixed because it's driving me and some other people crazy

PLEASE PLEASE fix this with in the next update or so
sincerly,
a blender user looking for help
thanks for reading :D

Tehrasha
Posts: 1264
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 6:21 am
Location: Iowa

Postby Tehrasha » Thu Jan 12, 2012 3:21 am

File>Open file1.blend
File>Append> file2.blend/object/objects_you_want
File>Save file3.blend (so you dont overwrite the originals)

dragonzofwar
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:48 am
Location: United States

Postby dragonzofwar » Thu Jan 12, 2012 1:24 pm

Tehrasha wrote:File>Open file1.blend
File>Append> file2.blend/object/objects_you_want
File>Save file3.blend (so you dont overwrite the originals)


and you can do this on a mac?

SirDude
Posts: 941
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:37 pm
Location: University of Minnesota (USA)
Contact:

Postby SirDude » Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:59 pm

I just tried this on a macbook pro with blender -2.61 (64bit)
and had no problems.

Note object != mesh safest way is to import the entire scene from your secondary blend file and then you can easily see if things are working.

I just tried it with 2 simple cubes that I slightly modified and everything
seemed to work. If your still having problems what are the detailed steps your doing and what isn't working?


Return to “Academic & Research”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest