OOPS Schematic

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

j2b999
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:28 pm
Location: United States

OOPS Schematic

Postby j2b999 » Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:34 pm

I recently upgraded to Version 2.61 and cannot seem to find the OOPS Schematic. I found it quite useful in previous versions, but it doesn't appear anywhere in the Outliner window. Is it missing in 2.61? Is there something that would cause it not to appear in a standard install? Everything else seems to work so far.
Thanx,

James

SirDude
Posts: 941
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:37 pm
Location: University of Minnesota (USA)
Contact:

Postby SirDude » Mon Jan 09, 2012 10:29 pm

It was not ported over to the newer version of blender.

j2b999
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:28 pm
Location: United States

Postby j2b999 » Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:08 pm

Bummer! Well, thank you for the reply. I will stop wasting my time trying to find it!
Thanx,



James

Tcll
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 12:11 am
Location: The Forest of Darkness

Postby Tcll » Sat Jan 14, 2012 1:12 pm

I had a small beef with this as well...

I still use 2.49 because of this...
and because the MMB isn't so wonky in the 3D scene...
and also because you don't have to hold the left click when moving verts or objects...

yeh...
2.6x was not as impressive as I was expecting...
(just mainly for the user control)

anyways... back on topic now...
I use OOPS for every blend file I work on...
(just to check to see if I have any "junk" in the file)
^and I do, almost 80% of the time... heh

if you could please port it,
it would be very helpful.

thanx in return ;)
Image

MatejMo
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 9:24 am

Postby MatejMo » Mon Jan 16, 2012 5:22 pm

Interesting. I never ever used oops schematics (to the point I didn't notice its missing from 2.6 :D), I guess I never truly understood it's purpose / usefulness.

j2b999
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:28 pm
Location: United States

Postby j2b999 » Tue Jan 17, 2012 11:55 am

MatejMo,

I learned it from the following link, beginning about 17 min 35 sec into the video:

http://blenderunderground.com/2007/09/0 ... -released/

Once you use it, you won't want to be without it.
Thanx,



James

ruediman
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:56 am

schematic view - taken out?

Postby ruediman » Wed May 16, 2012 3:17 am

Hi There and hello to all,

I am keen on gathering information about blender at the moment; keeping track of whats happening the last years on the market, blender as part of the production pipeline is becoming more and more interesting to us (especially to game developers).

Is it true that the "OOPS schematic view" was not deployed in current releases? But there is a way to get it on with python, or?
If not that would be like "shooting oneself in the foot" in terms of "product policy" if the Blender node editor is able to handle shading networks only.

ruediman
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:56 am

Postby ruediman » Wed May 16, 2012 3:44 am

think I found out why:
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:2 ... ment/Focus

Not targets (at all)
...
Making everything Nodes, Node-tool trees, or Node-Modifier trees.
Redesign Blender's internal DataBase or data handling.
...
...
...


>>Making everything Nodes, Node-tool trees, or Node-Modifier trees.<<
Maybe should say not only "Trees" but as well "Graphs"..

Thats sad; I was hoping that blender was focusing towards a "Nodal- System" ;-(

stiv
Posts: 3646
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Postby stiv » Wed May 16, 2012 4:59 pm

think I found out why:


The page you are looking at is targets for the 2.5x series of Blender - basically a massive reworking of the event handling system. That has essentially been completed.

You can find more info on current development plans here:
http://www.blender.org/development/

Note the mention of compositor nodes. Blender is definitely become more 'nodey'.

At a recent development meeting, there was some discussion on bringing back the OOPS schematic view.

ruediman
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:56 am

Postby ruediman » Sun May 20, 2012 12:34 pm

Hi, thats neat thank you for the link!
Applying nodes for shader- like issues or compositing is great to see, the right way. This has become standard, anyway.
Would be great to see blender heading towards a modern software architecture (Data Handling). See current tendencies (ICE/ Softimage, Houdini, or maya[I know, I know:])
This said it implicates the reintroduction of OOPS as a must to properly display data structures (in any application, btw).


Return to “News & Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 0 guests