VRML import bug

An open space where people who use Blender in an academic environment can share progress and the typical problems and needs of academic environments.

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

kakko76
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 10:00 am

VRML import bug

Postby kakko76 » Thu Feb 09, 2012 10:06 am

Hi,
I would like to import a VRML 2.0 file (just to export this in other extension), but I have this error :
Image

CoDEmanX
Posts: 894
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 7:42 pm
Location: Germany

Postby CoDEmanX » Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:59 pm

seems to be a bug in the script

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/5471 ... -interface

It occurs if the VRML file is gzip-compressed (*.wrz)

Unpack the inside *.wrl, e.g. using 7-Zip and try to load that one.

You should submit a bug report
I'm sitting, waiting, wishing, building Blender in superstition...

0mull
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 2:02 pm

same problem

Postby 0mull » Thu Dec 13, 2012 2:06 pm

I suffer from the same problem, with the same error message.

The file that I am trying to import ist not gzipped, it is in *.wrl format.
Any news on this one? I desperately need the import function. I am completely new to the world of blender. I know a bit of python (although 2.x, and more data analysis related, no big projects code experience), but I have not the slightest Idea on where to start. If somebody can point me in the right direction or tell me how I can help, I would be glad.

best, Georg

CoDEmanX
Posts: 894
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 7:42 pm
Location: Germany

Postby CoDEmanX » Sat Dec 15, 2012 11:41 am

i tested a simple wrl file i found on the web and it seems to work just fine in blender 2.65, what's your version?
I'm sitting, waiting, wishing, building Blender in superstition...

0mull
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 2:02 pm

Postby 0mull » Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:20 pm

CoDEmanX wrote:i tested a simple wrl file i found on the web and it seems to work just fine in blender 2.65, what's your version?


also 2.65. with the thought that the file I am actually trying to read might be corrupted, I also tested some file from the internet with the same error. Please give me the link to yours, so we test the same file (I forgot mine ... )

best, georg

CoDEmanX
Posts: 894
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 7:42 pm
Location: Germany

Postby CoDEmanX » Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:57 pm

I'm sitting, waiting, wishing, building Blender in superstition...


Return to “Academic & Research”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest