Rigging Issue, Please help.

Animation tools, character animation, non linear animation

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

MrLenon

Rigging Issue, Please help.

Postby MrLenon » Fri Mar 23, 2012 1:50 pm

Hey!

Quick Note: I've got no experience with Blender or animating itself. So sorry if I'm hard to bare.

My Issue:

Ok, so I went ahead and gave the 'Gus the Gingerbread Man' tutorial a try, everything went perfect until I got to rigging. Now I'd hate to be known as 'The guy that failed to make Gus move(Properly)' but that's exactly what's happening so far.

I'm able to make Gus move his limbs, but when I move the arms, it takes way too much chest with it and when I move the thighs/upper legs, the abdomen basically turns in to a 'C' with the curves it makes. The knee joint seems to work fine so far though.

What I've done to change this?

Well first I will point out that I followed the Gus tutorial EXACTLY! There might be a few miller meters off in mesh size, but that would be about it. So I've done the whole "Select Arm.R, Press 'B' and the middle mouse button, scroll over the arm, yada, yada, yada." So I think there is something I'm not seeing at work here. I've taken screen shots if you need it. I wont upload them now for the simple reason that my problem is most likely easy to solve and I'm just too stupid to realize it.

I've also tested the same rigging methods on other custom made models, the same result appears. Though the models don't look that great at the moment. I've even tried making a large square than a round arm attached to that to try and see if it was the positioning of the bone itself. All results are the same, too much chest moves.

Finishing Note:

Any and all advice and answers are greatly appreciated! I'm using Blender Ver 2.6!