virtual sets for video

Blender's renderer and external renderer export

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

virtual sets for video

Postby rkaag » Sun Jun 10, 2012 7:06 am

Hello all!
I'll start with a disclaimer...I am new to blender so please forgive my ignorance.

I would like to create virtual sets for compositing with video. Blender seems like a powerful tool, perhaps too much for what I want to do. I have played with the textures and materials and have had some success, but this seems like a tool with a significant learning curve.

Should I be using another tool?

Thanks in advance for any help!
Rob (the 'r' in rkaag)

Postby stiv » Sun Jun 10, 2012 7:35 pm

It all depends on what you want to do. If simple cartoony stuff is fine, maybe something like GIMP with the animation plugin.

A tool with powerful features will take some time to learn to use it effectively.

Postby rkaag » Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:30 am

Thanks for the feedback.

I am familiar with GIMP and could do the basics, but It won't quite fill what I might eventually want to do.

I would start with a simple wall or even a cross-section of a cube with 2 walls and a floor. (The multiple textures is where I'm running into the dificulty. ie: carpet merging with wood panel wall.)

On the virtual walls, I would drop some windows or doors with glass panes and chromakey a video of the outside. Let's say a simple start with a log cabin style interior with a view of a lake.... then maybe a high rise office with view overlooking a city with traffic below and a plane in motion etc.

Eventually, I'd like to take advantage of the blender cameras being able to create an artificial panning etc. This would be my growth path once I get the hang of it.