Cycles dont render texture from an accentuated directory

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

foxhanuman

Cycles dont render texture from an accentuated directory

Postby foxhanuman » Sat May 12, 2012 11:28 am

Hi all :)

I don't think it's a bug, but a development workaround ... The problem is very simple.

Context :

The same texture in 2 different directory, the first without accent and the second with.

Tested with :

- Blender 2.63 - 46507 - Fastest ( graphicall buid )
- Blender 2.63 - 46561 - Fastest ( graphicall buid )
- Blender 2.63 - 45996 - Official distrib

Problem :

- Using the texture under the not accentuated directory will work with Blender Render and Cycles.

- Using the other one wont work with cycles.

Conclusion :

Like i said to begin, it's not a real bug but ... i've lost 2 hours with that problem yesterday and i wanted to share it.

stiv
Posts: 3646
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Postby stiv » Sat May 12, 2012 7:17 pm

Not clear what you mean by a texture with accent.

foxhanuman

Postby foxhanuman » Sat May 12, 2012 8:51 pm

stiv wrote:Not clear what you mean by a texture with accent.


Sorry, stiv, thx for your interest.

I mean the texture directory name like "x:\img\txtr\Béton".

And i've forgot to mention i run Blender on W7/64.

Batty
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:14 am
Location: Germany

Postby Batty » Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:53 pm

I have found out after a test that my Textures with cycles won't render too. They won't even show up in the Blender Browser with pictures. I have had the same picture on another harddisk and it rendered without problems.

I tested the following: on the disk where the pictures didn't apply I made a change. I took that among other pictures which didn't work and pulled them out of their directory, so that they were on the surface of the harddisk and - they showed up and rendered perfectly. Another unofficial release even crashed by this.

It seams that cycles and the Blender version 2.63 (off rel) has some problems with deep folder hierarchies. Only one or two folders deep was working somehow.

kr Batty


Return to “Testing Builds”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests