New to Scripting: How to create a pure conditional Addon

Scripting in Blender with Python, and working on the API

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Goodfly

New to Scripting: How to create a pure conditional Addon

Postby Goodfly » Sun Sep 09, 2012 2:16 am

Hello everyone, I am a new member and this is my first post. I am also new to scripting in Blender, so I hope that you give me a push to make a good start with that.
I wrote a script to check the mode of the objects in the scene so that if it was 'EDIT', it turns it into 'OBJECT', and here is the code :

import bpy
for ob in bpy.data.objects:
if ob.mode == 'EDIT':
bpy.ops.object.editmode_toggle()

It works fine from Text Editor, but how to convert it to an add-on to let it be executed automatically once I open Blender, without a panel or a menu or a shortcut.
In other words : Is it possible that the add-on have a pure For loop or even a pure If statement ?

and thank you in advance..

CoDEmanX

Postby CoDEmanX » Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:35 am

in text editor you got a Template menu, have a look at e.g. UI panel simple or the like to see what is required for an addon (you basically need a bl_info struct, register and unregister functions)

I would use a persistent handler to execute code whenever a .blend is loaded (should also occur on startup with default scene), load_post seems appropriate for this.
http://www.blender.org/documentation/bl ... dlers.html

Note that you need to enable your addon and save as default (so that it is always activated and creates the persistent handler on launch)
I'm sitting, waiting, wishing, building Blender in superstition...

Goodfly

Postby Goodfly » Sun Sep 09, 2012 9:48 pm

Thank you CoDEmanX for your reply..

So, generally speaking, to make an add-on containing a condition depending on an operator execution or a mouse movement or a certain event, I should go for Handlers..

Thank you again CoDEmanX...you lit my way

CoDEmanX

Postby CoDEmanX » Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:24 pm