How do I enable CUDA on Blender? Only OpenCL is available.

Blender's renderer and external renderer export

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

dublinus

How do I enable CUDA on Blender? Only OpenCL is available.

Postby dublinus » Sat Sep 22, 2012 11:48 pm

I just downloaded blender from http://graphicall.org/856. That build of Blender is supposed to work with CUDA, but I can't seem to get CUDA to work. Under the render settings initially, I don't see a "Device" drop-down. I can open the Blender User Preferences window, in which I see a "Compute Device" section. Under there, there is only "None", and "OpenCL":

If OpenCL worked, I would have been content, but rendering in OpenCL only results in a black image (although it is quite fast :)). As you can tell, I'm pretty new to this, and I'm not sure whether I skipped an important step. I've searched online, but couldn't find a solution.

How can I enable CUDA on my GPU (which is an nVidia 650m)? Thanks for your help.

dublinus

Postby dublinus » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:37 am

Hey, this is still a pending problem, anyone care to take a stab at it? Thanks for your help!

stiv

Postby stiv » Tue Oct 02, 2012 6:10 pm

Did you install the CUDA stuff from nVidia?

dublinus

Postby dublinus » Tue Oct 02, 2012 6:52 pm

I went here: http://developer.nvidia.com/cuda/cuda-downloads, and downloaded for steps 1 and 2, but not 3. I can try that now, but I don't think I need the SDK? And once the drivers are installed, should I see the CUDA option in the user preferences?

Jedijds

Postby Jedijds » Wed Oct 03, 2012 6:33 pm

Its odd for me as well, the CUDA comes up on my computer but it creates a black screen just like the openCL did to him? I also have the openCL and it too creates a black screen.
Could it just be the nvidia graphics card having problems with blender?
۞◄█°‖‖‖‖‖█ʭʭ╬(░▒▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒)

dublinus

Postby dublinus » Wed Oct 03, 2012 11:28 pm