Why doesn't File/New make a new file?

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

DubiousDrewski
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 2:52 am

Why doesn't File/New make a new file?

Postby DubiousDrewski » Wed Sep 19, 2012 3:02 am

I would like File/New to create for me a blank slate. Instead, it loads some previous project. How do I change this? How does this behaviour even make sense?

Why would "New" mean anything except "clean", "fresh" or "blank"?

I love this program, and I'm getting a lot accomplished with it so far, but Blender is by far the most idiosyncratic, unintuitive user experience I've ever experienced in software.

Everything "Works" so I can't really complain that much, but I can't figure out simple things sometimes.

I still can't accomplish the simple task of closing a window; Yes I've watched the Youtube videos, I see them dragging the upper right corner in that weird way. I've tried the same thing, but with no response.

What kind software designer made Blender? Who ARE you? How does your mind work?

Tehrasha
Posts: 1264
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 6:21 am
Location: Iowa

Postby Tehrasha » Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:22 am

File/New restores Blender to a default setting. (factory setting of a single cube object)

It would appear that you saved a previous project as your default.

Delete all the objects you dont want, and File>Save User Setting.

This will become your new 'default' starting point.
Spacemice Wiki -- Input devices for a 3D world.
Spacemice / Blender Compatibility

DubiousDrewski
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 2:52 am

Postby DubiousDrewski » Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:48 am

Thank you for explaining it. I see that Ctrl U is the shortcut for this. That's great.

If anyone feels generous, I am still confused by Blender's method for closing a window. This is apparently how you do it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A0J1LKe-yAU

I do exactly as he does, but to no effect. I don't understand why there isn't just a simple right-click/Close Window option. I am so confounded at this interface.

Thanks again for your help so far.

Tehrasha
Posts: 1264
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 6:21 am
Location: Iowa

Postby Tehrasha » Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:58 am

A bit more up-to-date tutorial on how the windowing system works in Blender...

http://youtu.be/_SvnEHm_BiQ?t=2m34s
Spacemice Wiki -- Input devices for a 3D world.

Spacemice / Blender Compatibility

juhana
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 8:49 am

Postby juhana » Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:32 am

How about:

Providing submenu to New with user added "saves".
Plain New goes to "save" at top of the list.
The list order can be changed: top can be any of the "saves".
By default the factory "save" is at top.

Having the window controls also in the menus / popup menu.
So that people can check what controls are available.
Split area vert/horiz could split to halves like in Emacs.

Fire_Head431
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 2:44 pm
Location: America

Postby Fire_Head431 » Thu Sep 20, 2012 3:41 pm

Yea, this is an odd one.. Just go to the prefrences part and change the default start up :) Like the others said too :roll:
Keep calm and keep on rendering!

dustractor
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:52 am
Location: arkansas

Sometimes things are the way they are for a reason.

Postby dustractor » Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:16 pm

Setting your user preferences is a art.

DubiousDrewski
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 2:52 am

Postby DubiousDrewski » Fri Oct 12, 2012 1:46 pm

This is even weirder. My Start-up file sets itself, without my knowledge and without my permission. I swear I am not hitting Ctrl-U at any point while working on a project, yet at random, when booting up Blender, the startup file will be some past iteration of my project. I have to repeatedly select-all, delete and rest my Start up file. All so that my File/New works as it's supposed to.

What if a user didn't realize what was going on and began working on this file without realizing it's an old copy? How frustrating that would be for them!

What is the damned purpose of this behaviour?! It makes no ****** sense.

Someone on this list is responsible for this behaviour.

That person is a ******* moron. An IDIOT. What the hell are you doing designing software you BAFOON!

Tehrasha
Posts: 1264
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 6:21 am
Location: Iowa

Postby Tehrasha » Fri Oct 12, 2012 7:56 pm

DubiousDrewski wrote:This is even weirder. My Start-up file sets itself, without my knowledge and without my permission. I swear I am not hitting Ctrl-U at any point while working on a project, yet at random, when booting up Blender, the startup file will be some past iteration of my project. I have to repeatedly select-all, delete and rest my Start up file. All so that my File/New works as it's supposed to.


I would be willing to bet that at some point during your project you made a change to your keymap or addons and clicked 'save as default'.

Yes, its annoying, and separating project prefs from application prefs is being worked on.

That person is a ******* moron. An IDIOT. What the hell are you doing designing software you BAFOON!


Join in and help correct it. If not, here is your money back. $0.00
Spacemice Wiki -- Input devices for a 3D world.

Spacemice / Blender Compatibility


Return to “Interface & Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest