Blender - need to activate?

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

new guy
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 1:24 pm

Blender - need to activate?

Postby new guy » Sun Oct 07, 2012 1:37 pm

Morning, today's my first day with Blender and my first post here.

I have 2 problems in getting Blender working.

1. I can't select an object with right or left mouse-click... I've tried changing the settings in "user preferences" and it still doesn't work. I'm using a Logitech Trackman Marble with Ubuntu 11.04 desktop if that helps any?

2. I can't import .py scripts so that Blender can see them. I've tried placing both the folder "addons-extern" and "addons-contrib" in blender2.64/2.64/scripts and then restarting Blender; and I've tried using the user preferences>add ons>install add ons. Neither work.

Do I need to register or somehow activate Blender for it to work?

Many thanks for your patience


Posts: 894
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 7:42 pm
Location: Germany

Postby CoDEmanX » Sun Oct 07, 2012 3:48 pm

.py scripts will only show as addons, if they got the required structures, like bl_info, register and unregister functions

make sure you enable "Testing" category in user prefs > addons to see contrib addons.
I'm sitting, waiting, wishing, building Blender in superstition...

Return to “News & Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest