Blender 2.64 Cycles Rendering Problem

Blender's renderer and external renderer export

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

andreaslutsch
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 1:21 pm

Blender 2.64 Cycles Rendering Problem

Postby andreaslutsch » Fri Oct 12, 2012 1:51 pm

Hi. I'm new to Blender and wanted to try some renders in cycle. Rendering with my cpu (Intel Pentium IV) is very slow and saw on the internet that it's possible to use the gpu to render. I have a radeon hd 6570, which I think is faster, but when I go to preferences under the system tab I see obly cpu at compute device. Are amd cards uncompatible with cycles render?. I use windows xp 32bit.
Thanks for your help.

walldiv
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 5:50 am

Postby walldiv » Tue Oct 16, 2012 6:07 am

currently (i have an open ticket with CGCookie.com support staff) there is alot of NON SUPPORT for amd video cards. everyone that has tutorials is rocking the gtx nvidia graphics cards. . . . which makes alot of stupid sense but i'm sure its amd's lack of motivation to support blender's need for drivers & whatnot (it's obviously not my area of expertise, but i briefly understand it).

I'm in the same boat as you, and not very happy with the outcome :( I have a rocking system and spent alot of money on it, only to be told it doesnt work for a certain something doesnt sit right with me lol.


Return to “Rendering”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests