First time I installed blender2.64a. [problem]

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

pidot101
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:59 pm

First time I installed blender2.64a. [problem]

Postby pidot101 » Wed Nov 14, 2012 3:05 pm

The screenshot tells it all:

Image

help please :cry:

stiv
Posts: 3646
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Postby stiv » Wed Nov 14, 2012 9:44 pm

Usual problem with a video driver that does not do OpenGL well. Intel on-board graphics? Or worse?

Usual fixes are:

install video driver from manufacturer's website

Turn off compositing window managers or other eye candy like transparency effects

pidot101
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:59 pm

Postby pidot101 » Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:07 am

Is this what I should download?

Tehrasha
Posts: 1264
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 6:21 am
Location: Iowa

Postby Tehrasha » Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:57 am

Without knowing what your video card/chipset is, there is no way for anyone to answer that.

pidot101
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:59 pm

Postby pidot101 » Thu Nov 15, 2012 2:30 am

Image

Image

Tehrasha
Posts: 1264
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 6:21 am
Location: Iowa

Postby Tehrasha » Thu Nov 15, 2012 3:44 am

Intel GMA 3600...

The newest version I can find on Intel's site HERE, is older than the one already on your machine.

Good luck with this. A brief run through Google does not have much good to say about that chipset.
Spacemice Wiki -- Input devices for a 3D world.
Spacemice / Blender Compatibility

pidot101
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:59 pm

Postby pidot101 » Thu Nov 15, 2012 5:45 am

Tehrasha wrote:Intel GMA 3600...

The newest version I can find on Intel's site HERE, is older than the one already on your machine.

Good luck with this. A brief run through Google does not have much good to say about that chipset.


So any idea on how I could fix this? :?

stiv
Posts: 3646
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Postby stiv » Fri Nov 16, 2012 1:20 am

The bottom line here is you need a video card/driver that does OpenGL.

Some possibilities:

If you are running a window manager like Aero or are using transparent desktop effects, turn them off.

Try the video driver from the Intel site.

Play with you OS display settings. Sometimes turning down hardware acceleration helps.

If you can get to Blender's User Preferences, try playing with Window Draw mode.

pidot101
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:59 pm

Postby pidot101 » Fri Nov 16, 2012 2:32 am

stiv wrote:The bottom line here is you need a video card/driver that does OpenGL.

Some possibilities:

If you are running a window manager like Aero or are using transparent desktop effects, turn them off.

Try the video driver from the Intel site.

Play with you OS display settings. Sometimes turning down hardware acceleration helps.

If you can get to Blender's User Preferences, try playing with Window Draw mode.


Ok. Thanks. I'll be right back. :arrow: :arrow:


Return to “Interface & Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests