Previous Thread  Next Thread

chat icon Blender build error (datatoc: permission denied)

jithujose

Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 1:40 am
Joined: 19 Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Hello, guys

I am pretty new to the blender development. So after downloading the source code via svn and setting up everything as said in the wiki, I try to build the source but I am getting this error each time at about 13%:

Code:

/bin/sh: 1: ../../../../bin/datatoc: Permission denied
make[2]: *** [release/datafiles/startup.blend.c] Error 126
make[1]: *** [source/blender/editors/datafiles/CMakeFiles/bf_editor_datafiles.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2
01:16:48: The process "/usr/bin/make" exited with code 2.
Error while building/deploying project blender (target: Desktop)
When executing step 'Make'


Same happens with sudo make. I am using Qt creator as my IDE.
I am working on an Ubuntu VM and my code is in an external hd, if it matters.

Any help or hints are welcome.
Reply with quote


mcleary

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:08 pm
Joined: 05 Jan 2013
Posts: 8
jithujose wrote:
Hello, guys

I am pretty new to the blender development. So after downloading the source code via svn and setting up everything as said in the wiki, I try to build the source but I am getting this error each time at about 13%:

Code:

/bin/sh: 1: ../../../../bin/datatoc: Permission denied
make[2]: *** [release/datafiles/startup.blend.c] Error 126
make[1]: *** [source/blender/editors/datafiles/CMakeFiles/bf_editor_datafiles.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2
01:16:48: The process "/usr/bin/make" exited with code 2.
Error while building/deploying project blender (target: Desktop)
When executing step 'Make'


Same happens with sudo make. I am using Qt creator as my IDE.
I am working on an Ubuntu VM and my code is in an external hd, if it matters.

Any help or hints are welcome.


Did you try to move the code to the local disk?

I had this kind of permission problem once. Even running sudo make, maybe the make executable does not have permission to write on an external disk.

I'm not sure if this can really happen, but I think it worths a try.
_________________
Anyday, anytime, anywhere
Reply with quote


jithujose

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:14 pm
Joined: 19 Dec 2012
Posts: 2
I got it working today after copying the source to my hd.
Thank you for your suggestion.

I tried the same thing some days ago and the build was not going beyond the permission issue.
Reply with quote


stiv

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:32 pm
Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 3645
/me guesses: you have the source on a disk partition where you do not have privs to run programs from. Look for the noexec option in the mount command.
Reply with quote


 
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group