bf-blender / Windows (2004/10/12)

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

gabio
Posts: 618
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

bf-blender / Windows (2004/10/12)

Postby gabio » Tue Oct 12, 2004 6:37 pm

Update. Bugfixes, Outliner.
-----------------------
relevant features:
-bugfixes.
-Added Outliner selection
-Outliner features: Rename!

Commit:
-ton
Log:
Small cleanups in circle select code.

Brought back two hacks from previous code:
- do an 'activate window' for each event that happens. this might be not
needed, see below
- also set glReadbuffer at GL_FRONT for inverse draw

And added an escape out of circle select on INPUTCHANGE, when you activate
another window. So the old hack to activate current window might be
redundant.

Purpose for now; get reports solved about wrong circle selection drawing

Log:
- Added Outliner selection

As a means to indicate items in the Outliner to do operations on, you can
select with RMB items. Works like FileSelect here. Since selection in
Outliner is only on outliner level, no further UI updates happen. That is
reserved for LMB actions.

Implemented right now are only few operations... they can be called up with
the WKEY (the famous spare key :)
- if objects selected, a menu appears with choices
- if materials or textures selected, a meny appears to unlink them

If you make mixed or confusing selections you get a warning message.

TODO: add selection color in theme, and of course more operations.

Log:
Fix for reported Mesh+Subsurf+Optimal+particles, make linked duplicate, and
editmode crashed.

Cause: the stricter rules for when displaylists should be made failed on
the check for Effects (like particles).

Log:
Fixes in editmesh:

- ALT+B loop edge select loop
- SHIFT+R loop face select loop
(both work with ALT+select too)

- CTRL+R loop cut
- Kkey menu, loop select/cut and knife

- and ALT+select on edge always selects a loop now

Log:
Forgot about PC's using backbuffer draw for selecting (no AUX as on OSX),
so loopselect mode needs refresh of backbuffer during loops

Log:
Outliner features:

- Rename!
CTRL+leftmouse click on name, makes it a text button. Works for all items as
currently being displayed.
Most work was doing the Bones, which is a nightmare :) But it uses same
code as buttons in Armature-Editmode now, without even needing EditMode :)
When renaming a bone, the Outliner makes the Object active though.

- PageUp / PageDown keys
Do what you expect.

-stiv
Log:
fix memory leak in Object.GetSelected().
bugfix: #1631 Memory Leak in newMatrixObject
PyMem_Malloc()s not followed with PyMem_Free().
allocation error checking contributed by Tom Musgrove.

-ton
Log:
- selection option for vertexgroups didnt use proper new flags

- outliner bugs:
- shift+click on icons opened new window types
- click on world of other scene, makes that scene active
- deleting objects from multiple scenes crashed

-theeth
Log:
Moved headerprint to editscreen (for logical placement and reusability).

Made extrude along normals more sane. Now behave like a move along an arbitrary axis (including Ctrl/Shift applications and typemode). Also prints "Along faces normal" in the header, to tell the user what's happening.

-stiv
Log:
bugfix: #1624 Can not switch layers of some objects through python.

All Bases were not getting updated with new layer.

-ton
Log:
Bug fix 1432;

When you PAD-enter on a popup-number button (like for add circle) it
accidentally de/increased the value before assigning an "OK". Fixed.

Also: restored functionality that allows to use Enter keys as a mouse
button click. This de/increases values now, opens menus, etc. Not in
pupup or pulldown menus though!

Log:
Join triangles to quads (alt+j) tool didnt set face selection flags.

Log:
Extrude crashed on extruding verts/edges only, due to lack of pointer
check in theeths commit of 20h ago. :)

Theeth; the signal I added (for normal) was hackish, as noted in comments!
Hopefully in new transform that all will be nice.

-blendix
Log:
Face selection in uv face select mode, with hidden faces, was broken:
there was no check for hidden tfaces in backbuffer draw.

Log:
Draw Seams in subsurf optimal mode. They were already subdivided correctly,
just needed to be drawn.

Log:
Do better checking for hidden faces in uv editor, sometimes unwanted uv's got
pinned.

-ton
Log:
Added safety test for occurance of zero scaled areas in Blender. This
totally screws up opengl calls...
If it detects a zero area now, it removes it and prints warning in terminal
------------------------------
a new build is available
Last edited by gabio on Fri Oct 15, 2004 3:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

lucky3
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 6:08 pm

Postby lucky3 » Tue Oct 12, 2004 9:10 pm

thanks gabio.
-Bug:
When a mesh is deformed with an armature, and if i switch to the FaceSelect Mode (not in Edit Mode), i can't select properly the faces, except if i turn on the 'Rest Pose' button(no deform).

Monkeyboi
Posts: 561
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 1:24 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Postby Monkeyboi » Tue Oct 12, 2004 10:00 pm

Good to hear about overall progress!

As a means to indicate items in the Outliner to do operations on, you can
select with RMB items. Works like FileSelect here. Since selection in
Outliner is only on outliner level, no further UI updates happen. That is
reserved for LMB actions.

Implemented right now are only few operations... they can be called up with
the WKEY (the famous spare key
- if objects selected, a menu appears with choices
- if materials or textures selected, a meny appears to unlink them


Why has this been added? Why not simply let the functions work on the selected items? Why must there be introduced another layer of selection to keep track of? It seems confusing to me, plus it robs the RMB function and places it on the W key which is far from ideal. Optimally it should be LMB: Select, RMB: menu (reversed when in default RMB select mode). It seems really confusing to have two types of selection in the Outliner, and over-complicating something that could be relatively simple.

- Rename!
CTRL+leftmouse click on name, makes it a text button. Works for all items as
currently being displayed.


Nice function, but shouldn't this be in the menu so that it is obvious? Or how about letting it work like in Windows/Mac OS X where you rename by clicking on an already selected name?

Zsolt
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 9:39 pm

Postby Zsolt » Tue Oct 12, 2004 10:26 pm

Renaming should be done either by clicking once more on the name, this is the most obvious choice and the most intuitive!
But if we REALLY want to also use a function key along with a mouse click, then Shift would be better, since the rest of Blender uses a shift+click for editing number buttons (which are an analogy to text boxes).

thoro
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 10:20 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Postby thoro » Wed Oct 13, 2004 9:57 am

First of all, the renaming functionality in the new Outliner is great - it's what I always wanted.

I agree with Monkeyboi and Zsolt, it would be better to keep the handling consistently.

I would prefer [RMB] for selection of a single object, [SHIFT]+[RMB] for selecting multiple objects and [SPACE] for a context menu.

Concerning the renaming functionality, [SHIFT]+[LMB] would be my favourite.

leander
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 11:18 am

Postby leander » Wed Oct 13, 2004 11:22 am

Im agree too!

RMB for selections (SHIFT for multple objects).
SHIFT + LMB for edit names
SPACE for the context menu

Please keep default keys usage!

Sorry my english.

JoOngle
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 4:12 pm
Contact:

Postby JoOngle » Wed Oct 13, 2004 1:04 pm

Is it just me or does LoopSelect in Edge mode (SOLID) select nothing?
Switching to wireframe mode and it selects complete loops as it should.
(Alt + B).
Works fine with holding down Alt + RightMouse button (very useful feature!)


*edit*
Furthermore...it only selects middle-way loops...not the edges around
an object. It would be practical if it could select loops everywhere.

*editedit* more bugs:

On "grow" selection Face-mode solid - (Ctrl PLUS) it fails to update the other windows.
Shrink selection seem to work just peachy though...

bugsRus in this version:
When extruding edges in edgemode (killer-combo = 2 edges to make a triangle) sometimes kills blender and it crashes with a boom)

Kenden
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 4:11 pm

Postby Kenden » Wed Oct 13, 2004 1:20 pm

Log:
Join triangles to quads (alt+j) tool didnt set face selection flags.


It still does not work when creating a new face (fkey) in edit mode: the new face is not selected. Same with new edges.

*edit*

Also, suggestion: pressing F with two adjacent triangle-faces selected should either do a ALT-J or create a new Fgon automatically. Maybe a menu with the two options?
Last edited by Kenden on Wed Oct 13, 2004 1:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

poutsa
Posts: 482
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 4:49 pm
Location: Munich (Germany)

Postby poutsa » Wed Oct 13, 2004 1:24 pm

Feature request for the Outliner:Hide and Reveal Option Button in the list for every Object (Meshes Bones lamps e.t.c)..so you can see or not see Objects in the 3D Window.
and if possible a Option render or no render Button next to the Objects list !!!!

bug:if i use the Circle Select B.B buttons in edit mode i see Dubliverts something Cicles artifacts.....sorry for my English!!
Ciao

Vassilios

Actarus
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:34 am

Postby Actarus » Wed Oct 13, 2004 2:08 pm

thoro wrote:Concerning the renaming functionality, [SHIFT]+[LMB] would be my favourite.


I suscribe to this point of view.

SHIFT+LMB sounds more logical !

Could "Outliner" be the default view mode in Oops ?
(sorry for my poor english, I'm french)

thoro
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 10:20 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Postby thoro » Wed Oct 13, 2004 4:11 pm

Bug?:

I had some strange behaviour while working with Lattice deformation. Blender crashed several times while setting up and tweaking the lattice.

I switched to version 2.34 to set up the Lattice and loaded the scene into this CVS build and the deformations did not work in realtime - they only showed while editing the lattice and at rendering time, but not while moving the child object.

I bound a new object to the Lattice and suddenly everything was fine again... deleted the added object and it stays ok.

CDI3D
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 1:31 pm

Postby CDI3D » Wed Oct 13, 2004 4:17 pm

Still experiencing the OBJ import failure.

latest version hangs and locks.

"official 2.34" version imports in about 1 sec.

ZanQdo
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 4:57 am

Postby ZanQdo » Wed Oct 13, 2004 10:46 pm

The links betwen logicbricks can't be erased

fobsta
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 11:21 pm

Postby fobsta » Thu Oct 14, 2004 12:49 am

ZanQdo wrote:The links betwen logicbricks can't be erased


I can confirm this bug

oyster
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 4:41 pm
Contact:

bugs

Postby oyster » Thu Oct 14, 2004 4:54 am

1. there are 3 "make edge/face" items under mesh menu in editmode. one is "make edge/face", another is "edges-make edge/face", the other is "faces-make edge/face". they confuse me. I think the direct item should (or not) be here, and rename the 2nd to "make face", 3rd to "make edges"

2.I believe they should be same, but the 3 "make edge/face" functions different: choose 5 vertices of a cube, the "make edge/face" keeps silence, the "edges-make edge/face", "faces-make edge/face" and FKey popup FGon menu.


Return to “Testing Builds”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests