OSX 10.3/10.2 BF builds Scons and Make file sys please test

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Money_YaY!
Posts: 876
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 2:47 pm

OSX 10.3/10.2 BF builds Scons and Make file sys please test

Postby Money_YaY! » Fri Mar 26, 2004 5:35 pm

There are two here they are identical in every way ,,, except that one is slower.... Please tell me which one is slower... I will not tell you which one is as I need to find out which one you think is slower in all ways of editing and rendering....,/.,/.,/.,,',<';l>< It may just be me,, But one is defenetly slower. I need this data to report back to the higher up blender powers



http://aprilcolo.com/oh/natch/simplefor ... /scons.zip

http://aprilcolo.com/oh/natch/simplefor ... nts/bf.zip


Extra notes...
They may work on 10.2 Please tell me if they do

Oh yeah ! Second footnote !
The new features are AO render light new. Much faster than the old GI dome and lights.... And All sorts of new noise functions

cekuhnen
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 11:04 pm

Postby cekuhnen » Sun Mar 28, 2004 3:14 am

i tested both in terms of amature and render speed.

the scons compile is pretty much useless slow.
the bf is fast as normal.

claas

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 1848
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Postby jesterKing » Sun Mar 28, 2004 11:33 am

cekuhnen wrote:the scons compile is pretty much useless slow.


For most platforms the compile options still need to be ironed out. And to make it clear, SCons is a part of bf-blender CVS now, so it is also bf.

/jesterKing

Money_YaY!
Posts: 876
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 2:47 pm

Postby Money_YaY! » Sun Mar 28, 2004 3:49 pm

jesterKing wrote:
cekuhnen wrote:the scons compile is pretty much useless slow.


For most platforms the compile options still need to be ironed out. And to make it clear, SCons is a part of bf-blender CVS now, so it is also bf.

/jesterKing


I think he just called it that on account of me. I should have named the other one Make build instead of BF. :o

So as long as it is a know issue then all is well. Scons still needs some tool'n to get it up to speed., coo

cekuhnen
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 11:04 pm

Postby cekuhnen » Sun Mar 28, 2004 5:07 pm

sorry than the bf blender is pretty slow.
is this correct now?

V3nomX
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 11:25 am

Postby V3nomX » Tue Mar 30, 2004 1:48 pm

the bf work as usual, the scons don't even launch..

--------
G4@867/1.12Gb Ram/OSX.3.2/nVidia GeForce3

Johsahk
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:03 am

Postby Johsahk » Wed Apr 07, 2004 2:08 am

for me the scons is slower, and i really hate to be partly of topic here. but how did you get the gameengine to compile using the makefiles?

cekuhnen
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 11:04 pm

Postby cekuhnen » Wed Apr 07, 2004 2:26 am

http://builds.blender3d.ch/osx/

new build with game engine will be uploaded tonight!

claas

Michaelv
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 8:20 pm

Postby Michaelv » Thu Apr 08, 2004 7:41 am

cekuhnen wrote:http://builds.blender3d.ch/osx/

new build with game engine will be uploaded tonight!

claas


I've uploaded two versions:

One optimized for the G4 and a generic version with out any cpu specific optimizations that may run on G3 or G5s, maybe :? Both have the gameengine enabled.

Money_YaY!
Posts: 876
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 2:47 pm

Postby Money_YaY! » Thu Apr 08, 2004 2:24 pm

YaY! i no longer have to build tha thing ! ^v^

anders_gud
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 4:17 pm
Contact:

Postby anders_gud » Thu Apr 08, 2004 4:29 pm

Neither of the two (G4 optimised and generic) starts up...

Opening from CLI you get this:

dyld: ./blender can't open library: /usr/local/lib/libSDL-1.2.0.dylib (No such file or directory, errno = 2)
Trace/BPT trap

Tested on AlBook and TiBook (10.3.3 and 10.2.8)

I tried to compile CVS yesterday ( with scons ) but it does not work out of the box, what changes have you made to the SConscript files to get it to work? Please post some info or diffs..

maximum
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 10:54 am

Postby maximum » Thu Apr 08, 2004 4:32 pm

Michaelv wrote:
cekuhnen wrote:http://builds.blender3d.ch/osx/

new build with game engine will be uploaded tonight!

claas


I've uploaded two versions:

One optimized for the G4 and a generic version with out any cpu specific optimizations that may run on G3 or G5s, maybe :? Both have the gameengine enabled.


HI
this is the error in my dual g4

/blender can't open library: /usr/local/lib/libSDL-1.2.0.dylib (No such file or directory, errno = 2)
Trace/BPT trap

Panther 10.3.3 - 1.42 Ghz dual 512 ram

i need to install some external library?

MaX

Money_YaY!
Posts: 876
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 2:47 pm

Postby Money_YaY! » Thu Apr 08, 2004 7:40 pm

OH NO! This is a job for the BF board! It is not compileing and full containing! .....

YEs untill the problem is fixed you will have to install sdl with fink.
But this should not be currently

Michaelv
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 8:20 pm

Postby Michaelv » Sat Apr 10, 2004 11:15 am

maximum wrote:
Michaelv wrote:
cekuhnen wrote:http://builds.blender3d.ch/osx/

new build with game engine will be uploaded tonight!

claas


I've uploaded two versions:

One optimized for the G4 and a generic version with out any cpu specific optimizations that may run on G3 or G5s, maybe :? Both have the gameengine enabled.


HI
this is the error in my dual g4

/blender can't open library: /usr/local/lib/libSDL-1.2.0.dylib (No such file or directory, errno = 2)
Trace/BPT trap

Panther 10.3.3 - 1.42 Ghz dual 512 ram

i need to install some external library?

MaX


blender is pointed at a static lib for SDL (libSDL.a) in the bf-blender/lib/darwin-7.3.0-powerpc/sdl/lib dir but it's actually linking to the libSDL-1.2.0.dylib in my /usr/local/lib dir (I compiled and installed sdl here, and have it in fink) I'll try to correct that. Until then I'll upload the libSDL-1.2.0.dylib to the same place as the blender.apps.
I'm also uploading a version with G3 specific optimizations.

Michaelv
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 8:20 pm

Postby Michaelv » Sun Apr 11, 2004 4:26 am

I've recompiled the Generic-2.32-blender.app with the libSDL.a so there should be no dependence problems. The default behaviour of the gcc linker if the -dynamic flag is used, is to look for a *.dylib before using a *.a lib even if the *.a lib is specified. If this works I'll go ahead and recompile the G4 and G3 optimized versions, if not I'll try something else.

http://builds.blender3d.ch/osx/


Return to “Testing Builds”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest