Layer Management and Colors

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

harkyman
Posts: 278
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 2:47 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Layer Management and Colors

Postby harkyman » Thu Oct 24, 2002 3:29 pm

Once we get a solidly compiling tree, I'm going to start with this:

Make each layer's wireframe a different color in the 3d windows, that color being selectable by the user. Perhaps you could also select on a layer-wise basis to use the layer-defined color for that layer's wireframe display or the main color (is it exists) from that object's material.

After I get that working, I'm going to try to make the ability to display a layer without having it's objects selectable (aka locking a layer). What these two minor things would do for the workflow of complex projects would be amazing.

I'm planning to do this myself, but I'll ask anyway... any comments?

kaktuswasser
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 4:19 am

Postby kaktuswasser » Thu Oct 24, 2002 4:17 pm

yeahhh!! That's one of the things i'd LOVE to see. Especially for big scenes :D :D :D :) :) :)

cya henrik

xand
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 9:46 am

Postby xand » Thu Oct 24, 2002 5:52 pm

viewable but unselectable object could be achieve now by the scene and the use of 'set' for the rendering.

+++

harkyman
Posts: 278
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 2:47 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Postby harkyman » Thu Oct 24, 2002 10:30 pm

Yeah, I know you can do it now via the scene/set workaround. But this would be sooooo much better. And it's (probably) within my grasp as a programmer.

xand
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 9:46 am

Postby xand » Fri Oct 25, 2002 10:15 am

another useful tips would be to select layer by object. select an object and click to isolate his layers.

+++

jeotero
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:31 am

Postby jeotero » Fri Oct 25, 2002 4:39 pm

implement rendering in layers :)

ton
Site Admin
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:13 am
Contact:

Postby ton » Sat Nov 02, 2002 2:21 pm

Wireframe colors have been a debate internally as well.
Biggest problem to change is that it uses a context-driven system now. The color tells about the selected/unselected state, and the type of data (from a library, from another scene , a key from an Ipo, etc)


Return to “Interface & Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests