Blender to Java3D

Scripting in Blender with Python, and working on the API

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 9:48 am

Blender to Java3D

Postby lisabeeren » Sun Nov 03, 2002 7:11 am

Haven't really known where else to announce this, so;

Written a script for exporting Blender Objects to Java3D source code.

I'm creating a SF project now, and should have it up in not too long. Fairly simple and dirty at the moment, only exports the geometry, not colour etc. info.

Haven't been able to figure out how to do that considering the APPALLING state of the Blender Python documentation.

I wrote it using a lot of trial and error, as no API documentation or tutorials seem anywhere near uptodate. And that doc-browser thing is impossible to read.


Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 10:40 pm

Same trouble

Postby bootsch » Thu Nov 14, 2002 10:48 pm

I'm having similar trouble getting the RIB export from Jan Walter to work

Needs re-writing to the new API - is there any info that maps so we
can figure out what new calls to make?

Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 6:28 am

Postby james_gnz » Sun Jan 19, 2003 4:03 am

Regarding Blender to Java3D, perhaps have a look at the VRML export here:
recently mentioned in the VRML2 export thread, in combination with Xj3D on this site:

Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 3:50 am

Postby willian » Mon Jan 20, 2003 4:02 am

Hi, I've just updated an importer for AC3D modeler .ac files (including geometry, materials and textures) to Blender Publisher 2.25. The .ac format is ascii and friendly. Maybe looking at the script can give you the info you need. Otherwise, feel free to ask me and I'll try to help. The importer is here:


Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 11:31 pm

Postby celeriac » Sat Mar 08, 2003 11:10 am

:!: Please release this script! It sounds great!

Return to “Python”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests