Animation : Action Editor, Pose Mode and IPO

Animation tools, character animation, non linear animation

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

stinkypete

Animation : Action Editor, Pose Mode and IPO

Postby stinkypete » Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:39 pm

I bet this question gets asked a lot. I'm a newbie to blender so please forgive me - and please point me in the right direction. My issue is that it still does not click at a high level.

I have read numerous tutorials on character animation e.g. http://dev.newmediaworx.com/johnnyb/bpl ... aranim.htm and the blender manual(s)

... but it still does not click...

1) I assume that you build actions for your character, waving, walking etc. and then stich them together using the NLA - is this correct?

2) If using the NLA and the action editor - what's the point of poses?

3) How do you organise your work? Do you have one blend file for your objects (characters) and one for each time-line? When I use multiple scenes - I still have the same time-line.

Is there anyone or anywhere that explains this in broad understanding? All the docs seem to go straight into the animation and not explain the concepts?

Please help me - I'm a physicist and software engineer - so I need to know these things...

--Peter

2) :?

Monkeyboi

Postby Monkeyboi » Wed Jul 28, 2004 9:07 pm

1, True, that's one way of doing it. You could also just animate your character in one big action.

2) Poses should be understood like keyframes. No poses = no animation.

3) You animate you characters in one scene, then you render it out. If you want to make a new scene, just make a linked copy, animate it differently, then render that out. Once you have all your scenes and shots rendered out into different files, use Blenders Sequence Editor to stitch the files together and add sound, effects and crossovers.

stinkypete

Postby stinkypete » Thu Jul 29, 2004 12:50 am