Previous Thread  Next Thread

chat icon Blender for level editing ?

Bekas

Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 3:24 am
I'm new to Blender but i'm already very impressed with it! I find it hard to believe that it's free! Smile

A small question: Is it useful for creating levels, large interior scenes etc. ? How it compares to the various quake editors for such a task ?

I mean, is it specialized for model editing/animation, or it can be used as easily for level editing ?

Rahu

Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 4:00 am
I would work for level editing if you found an exporter, but the tools that come with a game for editing generally work much better.

Bekas

Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 11:41 am
Thanks for the reply. I'm in the process of creating my own tools, so i don't care about other games/exporters. If Blender is useful for level creation as well, then it must be the answer to my prays Smile

malCanDo

Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 3:50 pm
Hi Bekas,

> Thanks for the reply. I'm in the process of creating my own tools, so i don't care about other games/exporters. If Blender is useful for level creation as well, then it must be the answer to my prays

Blender can indeed be used for creating large game scenes ( I'm working on something to use Blender for this myself ), and the great thing is that you can take the source, and add any features that you require yourself ( hopefully changes that will be able to be fed back into the main version... for level editing, maybe having a visual library drag-and-drop scheme would be cool, or having a dynamic-snap-to-vertex feature ).

Mal

halibut

Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:07 pm
It is certainly very capable of creating static meshes for the unreal engine (just export to ASE format). For WHOLE level designs, I think the toolset is perfectly capable, it's just the matter of a perfect exporter (I don't know how open the popular engine level formats are)

-efbie-

Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 9:19 pm