Threads bug?

Animation tools, character animation, non linear animation

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Caronte
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:53 am
Location: Valencia-Spain-Europe

Threads bug?

Postby Caronte » Fri Sep 09, 2005 8:02 pm

Somebody get random crashes rendering with Threads in a hyper-threading processor on WinXP?

Blender closes at diferent (random) frames each time.

When the Threads button ins't pushed, everything works nice.

It occurs in every Blender version :(

Somebody has noticed it?
Caronte.
"Some Day, All Will Be Digital"
http://www.nicodigital.com

z3r0_d
Posts: 1522
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 2:38 am
Contact:

Postby z3r0_d » Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 am

try updating your bios, some computers have had issues with hyperthreading [in other applications, this is the first time I've heard of it in blender]

[and/or can you show us a .blend that has problems with this?]

Caronte
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:53 am
Location: Valencia-Spain-Europe

Postby Caronte » Sat Sep 10, 2005 3:13 am

z3r0_d wrote:try updating your bios, some computers have had issues with hyperthreading [in other applications, this is the first time I've heard of it in blender]

[and/or can you show us a .blend that has problems with this?]


I will try to find a light .blend the next week, because the .blend I´m working on now is too big (50MB).

Thnaks by your help ;)

P.D: My Bios was updated recently.
Caronte.

"Some Day, All Will Be Digital"

http://www.nicodigital.com

badcheese
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 6:41 pm

Postby badcheese » Sat Sep 17, 2005 10:47 am

It happens to me a lot on a dual CPU Mac. I don't submit a bug report because I can't reproduce it reliably and it only happens with complex scenes that are too big to upload to the bug tracker. I'm working with a debug build now, so hopefully it will dump something useful when it crashes.

Caronte
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:53 am
Location: Valencia-Spain-Europe

Postby Caronte » Sat Sep 17, 2005 6:11 pm

badcheese wrote:...it only happens with complex scenes that are too big to upload to the bug tracker.


Exactly!! :(
I think this is a memory bug, because when rendering to animation, the crash occur on different frames each time.
Caronte.

"Some Day, All Will Be Digital"

http://www.nicodigital.com


Return to “Animation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest