Reset blender User Interface?

The forums here are for Blender development. Questions and discussion about *using* Blender belong on If your thread was moved here, you are probably in the wrong place.

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:32 am

Reset blender User Interface?

Postby sy » Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:41 am

how to reset User interface.
i may have done some changes
and would like to restore them to default setting if possible. especially changes that have been saved to a curent working file.

Posts: 1462
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:03 am

Postby LetterRip » Fri Oct 21, 2005 9:30 am

You should have a file called

.B.blend in your .blender folder

if you replace that with a new .B.blend (or possibly delete it should work, but I don't recall for sure), then it should put you back to the defaults.


Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 1:03 am
Location: Brasília, DF, Brasil

Postby phoinx » Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:11 pm

1) To reset interface AND the current opened file: File > Load Factory Settings;
2) To open a file without loading its interface: File> Open, then untick the "Load UI" in the left of the File Browser window.

Ctrl+U saves the current file as Blender default file (the one seen when Blender is opened).

Seen at: ... 110&page=1

Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 12:41 pm

Postby Peterart » Wed Nov 21, 2012 7:10 pm

and how to reset the default screens without loosing your work ?

the tip above made me loose a whole day of work :(

Posts: 1264
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 6:21 am
Location: Iowa

Postby Tehrasha » Wed Nov 21, 2012 9:06 pm

I dont know what possesed you to reset your user interface without at least saving your current project first...

But the fix is...

Start a new project.
Load factory defaults.
Save user settings.

Now when you load your project, deselect the 'Load UI' box on the left side of the Open file window. Once you have loaded your project with the default layout, save your project immediately.

Your project will now have the default layout.
Spacemice Wiki -- Input devices for a 3D world.
Spacemice / Blender Compatibility

Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 2:21 am

Postby arpheztwig » Mon Mar 11, 2013 2:38 am

Tehrasha wrote:I dont know what possesed you to reset your user interface without at least saving your current project first...

I don't know what possessed them to let any alterations of the interface affect the work, whatsoever.

It's easy to accidentally grab the edge of a window that you've tuned to your liking and drag it out of existence, and an, "undo change to interface," or, "interface reset" would be incredibly valuable to me, as well.

just having to remake windows is an interruption to work flow and source of frustration when in the middle of a challenging project, let alone losing work in the process. I've cursed the program and given up on entire projects, for similar annoyances. then again, I am no expert. I just love blender, and want it to be perfect...

Return to “User Questions that really belong on”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest