Blender for windows Compiled and running ! Details....

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

nikolatesla20
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:41 pm

Blender for windows Compiled and running ! Details....

Postby nikolatesla20 » Wed Oct 16, 2002 3:28 pm

I got to work this morning and threw in my libfrozen.lib from last night, for the final unresloved external, and ran the exe.

It appears to run just fine, but I can't guarantee anything for you of course ! I just did a test rendering, and added material, etc. Haven't tried much else.

http://webpages.charter.net/nikolatesla ... derwin.zip

I haven't modified the code yet to make it act as a publisher version yet either, Step one was just to get the code to compile.

The game engine appears to function somewhat, although physics don't appear to work. For example, dloc will work but force will not. This was to be expected though, they said they ripped it out.

Python scripting is busted right now too for my binary, this is a BIG problem. It may just be an error in my libfrozen.lib that I made last night who knows.

Once I get down how to compile this on paper, others could look too of course, and get these problems worked out.

PLEASE NOTE that I am still working on this, and I did some small "tricks" to get it to compile, for example, I still get about 10 linker errors, because of Library functions being redefined. I have to track down why. For now, I used the /FORCE:MULTIPLE option, which ignored multiple link definitions and just uses the first one.

I'm sure there are lots of questions about how to get this to compile, and I want to answer, but I need to organize everthing so if you want me to help it will take a little time...

-nt20

phase
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 1:59 pm

Postby phase » Wed Oct 16, 2002 3:39 pm

Yessir!!!!!

I followed your progress and eagerly awaited this moment !
Please can you post that msvc sourcetree too ?
Thankyou!

And offcourse, thank you , Ton!
Last edited by phase on Wed Oct 16, 2002 3:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

IoN_PuLse
Posts: 252
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 6:05 am
Location: Canada, BC
Contact:

Postby IoN_PuLse » Wed Oct 16, 2002 3:42 pm

Well it works for me (well not python, but hey) I was wondering though I thought that this version had AVI codec export for windows?

phase
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 1:59 pm

Postby phase » Wed Oct 16, 2002 3:46 pm

Hah!
That's one of the first things i will try to hack into the source.

Given i have a working msvc project :)

gorgan_almighty
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:26 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Postby gorgan_almighty » Wed Oct 16, 2002 3:47 pm

Its a good start, well done nikolatesla20. Keep us posted bout the physics and python stuff! :D

I was wonderin what u ment by modifying the code to get the publisher bit to work though, cos i thought publisher was an intergral part of v2.25

nikolatesla20
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:41 pm

Python

Postby nikolatesla20 » Wed Oct 16, 2002 4:07 pm

Python appears to work if you use Python22.dll (Python 2.2)

I built blender using Python 2.2 sources, so that may be why.

Using python22.dll, I can successfully "import Blender". I can't do "import Blender210" though. Although I don't remember if that was a supported module or not anymore anyway. Probably just missing something in the libfrozen then if it was.

I'm still not an expert at that whole python freezing thing!


-nt20

gorgan_almighty
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:26 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Postby gorgan_almighty » Wed Oct 16, 2002 4:18 pm

can you access the GameLogic object in real-time mode? thats if real time mode works at all, i kno u said physics dont

nikolatesla20
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:41 pm

GameLogic

Postby nikolatesla20 » Wed Oct 16, 2002 4:33 pm

Yes, I think GameLogic works, because I loaded a very old game script that demonstrated moving vertices around in real time, and it worked.

-nt20

forcefield
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 4:20 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine. USA
Contact:

Grrreat Job!!

Postby forcefield » Wed Oct 16, 2002 4:37 pm

WOW That works soooo well! You ROCK!! Great effort!

It also is nice to have an official Blender web site back, I can feel the community coming back already!

There are soo many bug fixes too, the menus and toobars don't have issues with my NVIDIA drivers anymore! I can maximize across both monitors!

Way to go everyone version 2.25 rocks!! Big thank-you!!
Last edited by forcefield on Wed Oct 16, 2002 8:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.

gorgan_almighty
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:26 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Postby gorgan_almighty » Wed Oct 16, 2002 4:37 pm

great!

where do i get the python22.dll?? :P

nikolatesla20
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:41 pm

CORRECTION: Python works with python2.0.dll

Postby nikolatesla20 » Wed Oct 16, 2002 4:57 pm

Sorry about that mistake, it looks like it was an error probably in my python script testing.

I looks like "import Blender" still works fine with Python20.dll as well.

-nt20

leinad13
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:35 pm

License Key

Postby leinad13 » Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:53 pm

What is the Install License Key menu option for?

Could someone please explain it fully to me :oops:

Debaser
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:47 am
Location: Sneek, Netherlands

Postby Debaser » Wed Oct 16, 2002 6:02 pm

gorgan_almighty wrote:great!

where do i get the python22.dll?? :P


I used the python20.dll from blender 2.23.

nikolatesla20
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:41 pm

Rough Win32 compilation info.

Postby nikolatesla20 » Wed Oct 16, 2002 6:20 pm


nikolatesla20
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:41 pm

license key

Postby nikolatesla20 » Wed Oct 16, 2002 6:22 pm

The license key stuff can be modded once somone finds the code for it, I have't gotten around to finding it yet, because I have just been fighting to get it to compile first.



-nt20


Return to “News & Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 0 guests